Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 13:49:20
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I am not sure if this is a question or just an observation, but if you take 2 Reborn Warhost detachments (because you want Yncarne & a WK, for example), and assuming each detachment has 7+ units in each, does it matter what second unit you choose to Soulburst? For Example, lets say a unit from Host A Soulbursts, does the second unit you choose also have to be from Host A, or can a unit from Host B choose to Soulburst. That could be very confusing and hard to get up with. EDIT: Second question: If the additional Soulburst is indeed per detachment, what happens with a single unit from both detachments Soulbursts? For Example, I have a unit of WG from Host A, joined by a WWP Archon from Host B. They drop in, kill a unit, then Soulburst to shoot another. Technically, the unit has elements for both detachments, and therefore 2 additional units could Soulburst: 1 from Host A, 1 from Host B That seems a bit much. Please someone point out my error. -
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/20 14:12:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 14:29:50
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
|
I've been playing it that both Warhosts need to have 7+ units make make use of this rule.
And to expand, I am also playing it as only 1 additional can soulburst.
It very well maybe that you could soul burst 3 as long as one of them is from a Warhost that is 7+ strong.
I have played a few games now and have been severely out numbered and still ended up nearly tabling my opponent due to all the extra shooting and assaulting i was doing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 14:38:33
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I'll have to see the wording again, but I thought it was something like "If this detachment includes 7+ units, whenever one of the units does a Soulburst action, you may chose as second one from this detachment to Soulburst"
If that is the case, then not only do you need to keep track of who is in which detachement, but if you do "cross pollinate" with ICs, than you could indeed get 3 Soulbursts from 1 unit being destroyed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 15:24:43
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
I don´t think cross units would effect because for all rule an IC becomes part of his host unit.
So the IC from B has joined Unit from A. The only unit to be of effect would be Unit A.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 15:48:00
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
rawne2510 wrote:I don´t think cross units would effect because for all rule an IC becomes part of his host unit. So the IC from B has joined Unit from A. The only unit to be of effect would be Unit A.
But IC from B does not stop begin from detachment B just because he is joined to unit A. So in a case where the cross unit gets to Soulburst, it would consider a unit from both detachments as Soulbursting, thereby granting 1 unit from EACH detachment to also Soulburst. Honestly, there are several HIWPI scenarios here. First of all, I think the second unit to Soulburst should be within range. I know it seems like ANY second unit from the detachment can Soulburst, regardless of range, but that seems too powerful. If you think about it, the only way to bring Ynnari is in the Reborn Warhost anyway (or one of their Formations, which will most likely also be in the Reborn host). So like 99% of the time 1 Soulburts will always mean a second one. It only makes sense that both units be in range. Second, when taking 2 Reborn Hosts (which I probably always will, either for double WKs or 1 WK & Yncarne), I am going to always assume 1 Soulburst = only ever 1 more Soulburst, not matter which detachment. It seems silly to try and keep track of which units came from which detachment. Ergo, when any unit from the either detachment Soulbursts, it triggers only 1 more. Also important to note that if you are bringing 2 Reborn hosts, EACH detachment must have 7+ units to get the bonuses. (hence MSU Khymera are in my lists) -
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/20 15:51:09
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 15:50:05
Subject: Re:Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I have the french version, but the rule says that if you have 7+ units, you can choose to perform an additional soulburst action, every time a unit dies.
It doesn't say that the soulbursting unit has to be from this detachment. And it does say "an additional soulburst action". So my understanding is that if you have X Reborn Warhosts with 7+ units, you could do X+1 soulburst actions each time a unit dies.
I'm not sure that's what they intended though…
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 16:10:00
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I certainly hope that it the case as it would make it simple (well, simpler), but that would be extremely odd for a detachment bonus to affect units that were not in that detachment. It means that you only need to have 7+ units in that Host and if any of THOSE units Soulburst, than any other unit with SfD can also Soulburst, even if not part of that Host.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/20 16:10:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/20 16:26:07
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
You will need to track which unit is form which detachment if they don´t have IC within them. Simply because its a detachment bonus so must be kept within the detachment. I can understand where you are coming from that if the main unit has an IC from a different detachment that you can choose which detachment it comes from.
Obviously the rules for soul burst must still be adhered to so they would have to be within the distance from the destroyed unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/22 11:04:28
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
What about the space marine ruling that states if an IC from a different formation joins with a squad then that squad loses their formation bonus? would that apply here even though both have the same rules?
Probably not but thought I would throw it in there.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/22 11:06:21
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/22 11:15:51
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
The squad doesn´t lose the formation bonus it just can´t use it. In this case both the unit and the IC have the rule anyway so can still use it. Its just they have received the rule from 2 different sources.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/22 15:57:37
Subject: Double Reborn Warhost question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
ElfinAssasin wrote:What about the space marine ruling that states if an IC from a different formation joins with a squad then that squad loses their formation bonus? would that apply here even though both have the same rules?
Probably not but thought I would throw it in there.
That's really covering an IC that doesn't have the special rule already joining a unit in a formation. I'd go with what rawne2510 said since the IC and the unit alll have the rule before the IC joins.
|
|
 |
 |
|