Switch Theme:

Yncarne Sequencing, Soulburst and Inevitable death  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Kabalite Conscript






Hey I just wanted some clarification here to make sure I'm doing this right.

So the strength from death rules states "Whenever a unit is completely destroyed within 7" of one or more non-vehicle units that consists only of models with this special rule, pick one of those units to make a soulburst action."

Inevitable Death rule states "Unless the yncarne has been slain, each time a unit (friend or foe) is completely destroyed unless it was destroyed because it fled the battle), you may immediately place the Yncarne as close as possible to the position of that unit, at least 1" from all enemy models, even if the Ynacrne is still in reserve.

The Sequencing rule states "While playing Warhammer 40,000, you’ll occasionally find that two or more rules are to
be resolved at the same time – normally ‘at the start of the Movement phase’ or similar.
When this happens, and the wording is not explicit as to which rule is resolved first, then
the player whose turn it is chooses the order. If these things occur before or after the
game, or at the start or end of a game turn, the players roll-off and the winner decides in
what order the rules are resolved in."

So does strength from death occur at the same time as inevitable death? They both occur when a unit is completely destroyed. In this way if a unit of mine dies could i place the yncarne and then have it move by soulbursting since i could choose to have it placed first and then check strength from death since on my turn i can choose sequencing?

I get that this wouldn't help on the opponent's turn because they could just choose to check for strength for death first since they can choose the sequence bt it would allow niche opportunities on my turn and give me a little more options.

YMDC, can the yncarne arrive via inevitable death and then soulburst for a free move?

//ALL GLORY TO THE PARTRIDGES

//Just give them the push while I kickstart 
   
Made in us
Foolproof Falcon Pilot





In terms of placing the YnCarne, you would place it either before the eligible units make a Soulburst action or after.

In terms of the YnCarne benefiting from the actual destruction of the unit that causes it to be placed, the unit is technically "destroyed" before the YnCarne is placed so you would not be able benefit from its Strength From Death rule to then also make a Soulburst action.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/23 03:06:57


Jesus Christ changed my life, He can do the same for you!

My gaming blog regarding Eldar and soon to be CSM:Thousand Sons: http://yriel.blogspot.com/

My WIP Tyranid Fandex:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576691.page#6486415 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

I agree with mortetvie, the Yncarne isn't there when the unit dies so you wouldn't get SfD too.

However I think it would work if a unit was killed while within 7" of Yncarne as then they are both triggered.

Also mortrtvie what is with the rendome capitilization of the C in Yncarne?

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




If both special rules trigger on destroying an enemy, then Sequencing lets the active player decide which to resolve first. To trigger both rule you have to meet the conditions for both, including being within 7" when it is destroyed.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






Yncarne does not get a free soulburt when he arrives to the game with his inevitable death rule. This is plainly obvious as he is not on the table when the unit is destroyed.

It's the same argument with SFD and transports. You don't get to soulburst if you are embarked on a transport that is destroyed. You aren't actually on the table if you are in a transport.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Foolproof Falcon Pilot





 roflmajog wrote:


Also mortrtvie what is with the rendome capitilization of the C in Yncarne?


I must have had carne asada on my brain... Was Mexican food night at home =).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/23 22:32:09


Jesus Christ changed my life, He can do the same for you!

My gaming blog regarding Eldar and soon to be CSM:Thousand Sons: http://yriel.blogspot.com/

My WIP Tyranid Fandex:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576691.page#6486415 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: