Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/27 17:41:38
Subject: Can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
For reference, this is the relevant FAQ quote for this situation:
"Q: I have a question regarding unit special rules that affect all
or some units within a certain range of a model or unit. How do
these interact with units inside Transports, and what happens
if the unit with the rule is inside a Transport?
A: When a unit embarks on a vehicle it is taken off the
battlefield and does not interact with anything on the
battlefield. However, certain rules may create exceptions
to this rule, with the most obvious examples being Fire
Points, psychic powers and Transports. If a unit’s rules
are meant to apply even when embarked on a Transport,
they will specify this."
So, like the title asks, can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
Like the FAQ says, when infantry embark on a vehicle, they are removed from play and can't interact with the battlefield.
However, they are still on board for things like certain witchfires and shooting attacks.
So, given that embarked infantry are generally considered to not exist until they are disembarked, can a warboss in a vehicle call a waaagh?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/27 17:43:10
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/27 18:54:16
Subject: Can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
The grim darkness of far Fenland
|
If I was playing against you, I'd definitely allow it. But I have no rules reference to back that up!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/27 19:03:54
Subject: Can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
|
 |
Nasty Nob
|
Can't hear the Warboss over the sound of the Battlewagon Engine, unless there is something in the FAQs otherwise.
|
I am the kinda ork that takes his own washing machine apart, puts new bearings in it, then puts it back together, and it still works. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/27 19:55:45
Subject: Can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
warboss not on a bike...
That said rules as written probably not, but barring a tournament I would allow it, but not personally do it.
|
10000 points 7000
6000
5000
5000
2000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/27 20:01:01
Subject: Can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
|
 |
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran
Ankh Morpork
|
No. The rulebook FAQ makes it clear embarked units cannot use special rules, wargear etc. unless specifically stated.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/02/28 16:19:51
Subject: Can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
|
Well what a disappointment but I'm glad you brought it to my attention. I guess Warbike Boss wins again!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/02/28 16:20:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/14 17:20:22
Subject: Can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
|
Holy feces monkeys Batman! That stinks! I had completely missed that in the FAQ...trukk lists were my favorite thing to run!
=(
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/14 17:20:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/14 17:30:59
Subject: Can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Follow up question - if you get out of a vehicle, on that same turn can you call a waaagh? I forget exactly, but I think that you call a waaagh at the start of your turn, which would be before disembarking.
|
"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/03/14 17:35:12
Subject: Can you call a waaagh inside a vehicle?
|
 |
Crafty Clanrat
|
Correct, waaagh is at the beginning of your turn. So no disembarking then calling a waaagh.....I'm seriously a little bereaved at the loss of my trukk list...so sad Automatically Appended Next Post: Like there's some Sarah McLachlan music and a slide show of the good times playin in my head as I remember all the Trukks rushing forward to krump da humies. Automatically Appended Next Post: So basically the warboss in mega armor, or ghazkull has to disembark from their transport, wait a turn, then call a waaagh. And if they need to re embark cannot call a waaagh the next turn.
That really does mean that a warboss on a bike is the only real option for a speed freak list.
And oh such irony....the bikes can't benefit from the waaagh.....
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/03/14 19:02:50
|
|
 |
 |
|