Switch Theme:

How exactly does rending work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User



Suffolk County, Long Island, New York

So a buddy and I have had some disagreements regarding the Rending special rule. My interpretation is that if you roll a six to wound then it is an automatic wound in the sense that it bypasses any saves (the target doesn't get to make an armor save or cover save, etc) except they get any invulnerable saves if they have one. My friend thinks that the added "regardless of their toughness" means that rending doesn't bypass saves, it just means that a unit that normally wouldn't be able to wound another unit (due to their high toughness) does get to wound them on a six and then the target unit then gets to make their armor saves, etc

I can't find any clarifications on the Games Workshop FAQ's or google.
Thanks!
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

Your friend is kind of correct, in that he's right if you don't include vehicles.

For each To Wound roll of a 6, the target automatically suffers a Wound, regardless of its Toughness. These Wounds are resolved at AP2.


So, it bypasses toughness, not saves. But, they are resolved at AP2, which means you're relying on an invulnerable save (or cover save), since no armor is better than 2+.

But the distinction comes into play when shooting at vehicles:

In either case, against vehicles, each armour penetration roll of 6 allows a further D3 to be rolled, with the result added to the total. These hits are not resolved at AP2, but are instead resolved using the model/weapon’s AP value.

So a vehicle with a 3+ save would still get a save against rending AP4+, whereas an infantry model like a terminator would rely on his invlun save because of AP2.

EDIT: This is all in the big rule book, but you won't find it in your codex.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2017/03/02 21:14:12


 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The wound is resolved at ap2, and so does not bypass cover saves naturally. In close combat you don't get to take cover saves at all

Regardless of toughness means even if you could not normally wound a target (eg s4 vs t8) you can still wound.
   
Made in us
The Hammer of Witches





A new day, a new time zone.

Joey_Fingarelli wrote:

I can't find any clarifications on the Games Workshop FAQ's or google.
Thanks!

The issue seems to be that you're both overlooking the fact a rending wound counts as AP 2. That shoukd clear it all up.

"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..."
Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. 
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





 Marmatag wrote:
But the distinction comes into play when shooting at vehicles:

In either case, against vehicles, each armour penetration roll of 6 allows a further D3 to be rolled, with the result added to the total. These hits are not resolved at AP2, but are instead resolved using the model/weapon’s AP value.

So a vehicle with a 3+ save would still get a save against rending AP4+, whereas an infantry model like a terminator would rely on his invlun save because of AP2.

EDIT: This is all in the big rule book, but you won't find it in your codex.


Is there vehicle with armour save? The AP thing in vehicles rather come in that you don't get +1 on the damage chart.

2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
Made in us
Lone Wolf Sentinel Pilot





Automatic wound does not equate to unsaved wound.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: