Switch Theme:

Flock to the front line: Fall of Cadia.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot





Equestria/USA

In the Gathering Storm: Fall of Cadia detachment Castellans of the Imperium there is a rule called Flock to the front line. It says
"each time a troops unit from this detachment is completely destroyed, roll a D6. On a 5+, you can immediately place a new unit into ongoing reserves that is identical, in terms of the original number of models, weapons, and upgrades, to the unit that was just destroyed. This unit counts as being part of the original detachment, So roll a D6 as described above if they are subsequently destroyed. Victory points are awarded as normal for new units in this detachment that have been completely destroyed"

My question is, how does this ruling affect troops that are broken into combat squads, and have a dedicated transport. Does the original troops slot have to be destroyed (all 3 separate units for all rules and purposes), or each unit(2 combat squads and their DT) that is destroyed benefits from the rule and has the chance of coming back. If a vehicle is wrecked and stays on the field do you get it back?

Black Templars 4000 Deathwatch 6000
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Wichita, KS

If you have 10 Marines in a dedicated Rhino, and those 10 marines are combat squadding, then you have 3 separate units.

Think of it in terms of Kill points. If you kill the Rhino you get a kill point whether or not you kill any of the marines.

So each of those 3 units get's to roll seperately for that rule, and come back identical to the way it started the game.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

From Combat Squads:

"A unit split into combat squads therefore is now two separate units for all game purposes".

And then:

" It cannot split up or join back together later on in the battle, nor can you use a redeployment to split up a unit or join it back together."

Dedicated Transports are not the same unit as the unit they were purchased with, so would be subject to 'Flock to the Front Lines' separately from the unit they were bought for.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: