Switch Theme:

Controlling player decides sequencing when timing is identical?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Repentia Mistress





Hey,

I had two questions.

If the new Celestine's blessing rules tell me I can bless aunt at the very start of my turn, which is word for word when drop pods come down, do I get to decide which comes first?

I had a second question too... I know unit composition got a little more clear with the errata but I wanted to ask about the scout USR.

If I have a squad of scout bikers and attatch an infantry character to them can I still scout the bikes 12" and the character 6"?

The scout rule is more binary and it seems like it may not follow the model by model basis outlined with the whole run/turboboosing clsrification.

Thanks!

hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
Made in fr
Been Around the Block




To the first, yes.

Regarding scout, you'd still need to maintain unit coherency, so I don't know how you could do this.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

For the first question, if you're trying to bless a unit that has arrived by Deep Strike, I'm not so sure that is possible.

While rolling for the arrival of units in Reserves is done at the start of the turn, certainly moving on from Reserve is done at the start of the Movement phase. Deep Strike has you roll for arrival and then "deploy as follows" so is admittedly not the same as moving on from Reserve, however the Deep Strike rule does also mention:

"In the Movement phase during which they arrive, Deep Striking units..."

This suggests that, much the same as moving on from Reserve, arriving (I would suggest in the deploying sense, not the rolling for arrival itself) by Deep Strike happens in the Movement phase, and not part of the same start of turn prior to the Movement phase.

As for the Scout question, the Scout rule assumes a unit of a single rather than mixed unit type. I would certainly play it at least that each model could redeploy per its unit type, but that all models would need to retain unit coherency.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/03/10 21:23:39


 
   
Made in us
Repentia Mistress





To clarify I'd be drop podding the unit I wanted to bless.

Drop Pods arrive at the very start of the turn which is a little different than deepstriking.

hey what time is it?

"Try looking on page 12 of the FAQ."

-Ghaz 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Aijec wrote:


Drop Pods arrive at the very start of the turn which is a little different than deepstriking.

Not quite , tho the wording is so terrible it's better to avoid making a deal about it. Drop pods deploy by deep strike reserve, which in the deep strike rule says they come in in the movement phase.
But the drop pod rule then says they arrive at start of turn.. contradictory, kinda, as the start of turn is when you make your reserve rolls to determine what arrives.

I don't think you should be able to bless something not on the table at start of turn, but the wording is ambiguous.

DFTT 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: