Switch Theme:

Can Hounds of Abaddon run&charge T1 if you go second?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






Let slip the hounds says that you can run & charge on any of your turns except the first. They don't specifically use game turn.
Does this mean that you can run & charge as long as you go second since it's no longer THE first (player) turn?

For reference: " Once per turn, at the start of any of your turns after the first, you can declare a massed charge..."

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2017/03/14 15:30:33


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The opponents first turn is not "your" first turn. So no.
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






It doesn't say "your first" though, it says "the first". I believe intent is "your" or first game turn but that could be read as first player turn too. As in any of your turns after the first turn. Whoever's turn that was.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/14 16:19:12


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





If you go second, you don't count your first turn as the second turn to roll for bringing on reserves. Using "the first turn" would pretty much be standardized as the first game turn.
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






Reserves specifically say "your second turn". P17 says that any time they don't specifically say "game turn" they mean player turn. So a general " first turn" would mean the actual first player turn to be played. I'm just not convinced that the hounds special rule is referring to THE first turn as opposed to your first turn.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Roknar wrote:
It doesn't say "your first" though, it says "the first". I believe intent is "your" or first game turn but that could be read as first player turn too. As in any of your turns after the first turn. Whoever's turn that was.


You have a "first turn, second turn, third turn," etc. At the start of any of your turns that isnt the first, you can declare the charge. It doesnt matter whether you went first or second in the game turn because the rule is specifically talking about your turns, not the opponents or game turns.
   
Made in us
Rotting Sorcerer of Nurgle






The Dog-house

 Roknar wrote:
at the start of any of your turns after the first


"The first" very clearly means the "first of your turns." It does not say "at the start of any turn" it states "at the start of your turn" meaning the following "the first" is in direct reference of "your turn."

This isn't even arguing on RAW/RAI level. This is just grammar and reading comprehension.

H.B.M.C.- The end hath come! From now on armies will only consist of Astorath, Land Speeder Storms and Soul Grinders!
War Kitten- Vanden, you just taunted the Dank Lord Ezra. Prepare for seven years of fighting reality...
koooaei- Emperor: I envy your nipplehorns. <Magnus goes red. Permanently>
Neronoxx- If our Dreadnought doesn't have sick scuplted abs, we riot.
Frazzled- I don't generally call anyone by a term other than "sir" "maam" "youn g lady" "young man" or " HEY bag!"
Ruin- It's official, we've ran out of things to talk about on Dakka. Close the site. We're done.
mrhappyface- "They're more what you'd call guidlines than actual rules" - Captain Roboute Barbosa
Steve steveson- To be clear, I'd sell you all out for a bottle of scotch and a mid priced hooker.
 
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




refers to your first turn (Player turn)

"Whenever a rule refers to ‘a turn’ it always means ‘player turn’
unless it specifically refers to a ‘game turn’."

BRB: Game turns and Player turns

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/03/16 12:55:11


 
   
Made in ca
Pulsating Possessed Space Marine of Slaanesh





Florida, USA

Definitely in agreement for no.

If the rule in the formation didn't reference "your turn", I'd argue otherwise. Sadly, it does reference it, so it seems a clear cut no.

If the rule read like:

" Once per game, at the start of any turn after the first, you can declare a massed assault. For the duration of that turn, units from this Formation can charge in the Assault phase even if they made a Run move in the same turn."

Then you'd definitely be able to assault after running on game turn 1 if you went second. As stated, adding in the "of your" forces the following "first" to directly reference your turns, not game turns.

If they had added in "...of your turns after the first player turn." then, again, you could definitely justify a first game turn assault after running if you went second.

Without a FAQ to directly clarify or rephrase the rule, solid no in my book.

----Warhammer 40,000----
10,000  
   
Made in lu
Rampaging Khorne Dreadnought






I've always played it that. For a moment I thought I might have missed an opportunity. Thanks for confirming T2.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: