Switch Theme:

Can independent characters join a unit from deep strike?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





Ok so can IC join a unit from deep strike if they land within 2 inches of the unit? page 166 states that to join a unit the independent character has to move so that he is within 2 inches of the unit. it goes on to state that if the independent character is within 2 inches at the end of the movement phase the character may join that unit.

under deep striking it states that after deep striking the unit may not move ANY FURTHER. It also states that for the purposes of shooting treat that deep striking unit as tho it moved in the movement phase.

so the debate I had was whether an IC could join a unit from DS because the rules state it must MOVE within 2 inches of a unit and the other player did not agree that DS counted as movement.

So what do you guys think? I think it is pretty clear that it does count as movement especially with the part about not being able to move ANY FURTHER which would indicate that the unit has already moved. ALso the part saying treat units as though they moved for the purposes of shooting.

Views please
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes. Your argument for being able to do so is correct. The Deep Strike rule internally identifies Deep Striking as a move.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran





col_impact wrote:
Yes. Your argument for being able to do so is correct. The Deep Strike rule internally identifies Deep Striking as a move.


Thanks I was pretty sure I was right wanted to confirm
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

Surprisingly, I agree with the Ignored One, there.

Do note, however, that it is a very dangerous maneuver if there is a chance of Scattering at all. If the IC Scatters on to the unit he is intending to join, Mishap. If the IC Scatters too far, he won't be joining, unless the unit moves to incorporate him.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in us
Locked in the Tower of Amareo




Locator beacons help with this a lot. I use this trick in my archangels sanguine wing list.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: