Switch Theme:

Sentry Pylons and combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Battle-tested Knight Castellan Pilot





Perth

Hi guys, I just had a thought regarding the pylon star that necrons can run. The idea is to add a couple of IC's to a unit of pylons, deep strike them up the board and start doing the brutal shooting that the pylons are good for. You then have the IC's as CC defense. The pylons work as artillery, however, they do not have a crew. To get around this they have the Canoptek Artillery rule which states :

Spoiler:
A unit with this special rule uses all of the standard rules for Artillery type units, except that it does not require the presence of a crewman to either move or fire, is not removed from play due to the absence of crew, and may never declare a charge. In addition, Canoptek Artillery that are charged do not fight in the ensuing combat, all of the assaulting unit's attacks hit automatically and damage is resolved as normal, no Moral check is made regardless of the results of the combat and the attackers must consolidate after that round of combat is resolved. The Canoptek Artillery unit cannot be locked in combat and any surviving models act normally on their following turn.


So if you attach IC's, who don't have the rule, do the IC stay locked in combat and the artillery does not (thereby breaking the unit up, which I thought can only happen in the movement phase)? Or does the entire attacking unit have to consolidate away? Or does everyone stay locked and the Canoptek Artillery rule get overruled.

What if some of the attackers are in b2b with the pylon, does it force the entire attacking unit to consolidate or only the models in b2b with the pylons and the rest of the unit stays locked with the IC?

12,000
 
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





Is the IC in squad with the arty?

if so then he doesn't get locked in combat and benefits from this rule

You cannot use it to keep units locked in combat and your arty safe
   
Made in au
Battle-tested Knight Castellan Pilot





Perth

Yea, the IC's (multiple) are attached to the unit per normal IC rules. I just wasn't sure if the rule applied to them as they do not have the rule, and it explicitly states in the BRB that unit special rules do not apply to IC's that do not have those rules and vice versa, which led to my confusion. Also its beneficial to not have the artillery locked in combat as they cannot shoot if locked, so its beneficial to me for the rule to force the consolidation.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
So the FAQ states unit rules do not confer to the IC's, but that does not mean the unit loses the rule, just that it is not applied to the IC's?

so the artillery is not locked in combat next turn but the IC's are?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/04/12 07:22:19


12,000
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Klowny wrote:


so the artillery is not locked in combat next turn but the IC's are?


That's the rub. So long as a single IC in the unit is locked in combat, the whole unit is locked in combat. You don't have permission to break up a unit in combat.
   
Made in us
Not as Good as a Minion





Astonished of Heck

 Klowny wrote:
Yea, the IC's (multiple) are attached to the unit per normal IC rules. I just wasn't sure if the rule applied to them as they do not have the rule, and it explicitly states in the BRB that unit special rules do not apply to IC's that do not have those rules and vice versa, which led to my confusion. Also its beneficial to not have the artillery locked in combat as they cannot shoot if locked, so its beneficial to me for the rule to force the consolidation.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
So the FAQ states unit rules do not confer to the IC's, but that does not mean the unit loses the rule, just that it is not applied to the IC's?

so the artillery is not locked in combat next turn but the IC's are?

Yeah, some of those FAQ answers don't work properly. If you took it literally, then Stubborn wouldn't work at all.

In this case, you can't have a unit where some models are locked in combat and other models not locked in combat. The BRB only gives it a case of a binary condition. Much like pregnancy, the unit is either locked in combat or not, there are no part ways provided for this condition.

Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right.
 
   
Made in au
Battle-tested Knight Castellan Pilot





Perth

Yea, thats the way I was looking at it, it just is such a clunky rule when you attach IC's to it.

Thanks guys!

12,000
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: