Switch Theme:

[SWA] Tau Pathfinder Special Rules ruling  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi guys,

Just trying to settle a minor dispute.

In the Tau Data Slate for SWA, it states that "Pathfinder Warriors" can fire a single ranged weapon as if in overwatch - for their special rule.

My opponent has stated this applies to the entire Kill Team, not just the "Pathfinders". Including stealth suits and MB3 Drones with Burst Cannon.

His argument is his Kill team is called a "Pathfinder Kill Team".

He interprets the rules that any unit in the kill team can apply this rule.

However, I read it as any "Pathfinder" can fine 1 shot.

Ie, Shas-ui, Cadet, Pathfinder, Specialist.

Any Tau players care to correct me?


Chris


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Ok,

Ill answer my own question.

The wording EXACTLY before the special rule states.

"The following Special Rules apply to ALL of the members of a Tau Pathfinder Kill Team"

So he is correct.
+1 for Tau Players

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/04/20 10:07:48


 
   
Made in hk
Regular Dakkanaut







Thanks for pointing this out in case we come across it in our meta.

Because we already found a weird RAW/RAI issue with Tyranids that reads, "If a fighter has more than two pairs of arms..." which we think should be "if a fighter has (just) two pairs of arms".

   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok, so. A potential update on my Tau opponent.

Maybe a RAW/RAI issue?

His special rule, allowing him to "overwatch" charging units. While it would only affect units in his 90deg arc. There is nothing stating he needs to fire at the Charging unit?

He could, for example, choose another model in LoS?

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






mcsheehy wrote:
Ok, so. A potential update on my Tau opponent.

Maybe a RAW/RAI issue?

His special rule, allowing him to "overwatch" charging units. While it would only affect units in his 90deg arc. There is nothing stating he needs to fire at the Charging unit?

He could, for example, choose another model in LoS?



The supporting fire rule specifically states you have to target the charging enemy fighter .

Kommissar Waaaghrick
Post 2017/04/21 01:08:40 Subject: [SWA] Tau Pathfinder Special Rules ruling
Thanks for pointing this out in case we come across it in our meta.

Because we already found a weird RAW/RAI issue with Tyranids that reads, "If a fighter has more than two pairs of arms..." which we think should be "if a fighter has (just) two pairs of arms".


This rule appears to be only for the Ravener special operative as it does have more then two pairs of arms. Not sure if that is a mistake or intentional. As written Warriors only gain 1 attack from having 2 close combat weapons, no bonus from extra weapons other then not losing the first bonus if you take a basic weapon.
This brings up an issue with Bio-Cannons, they are not stated to be basic, special or heavy; so RAW they wouldn't remove the Attack Bonus, though that is silly, also how do they interact with some of the shooting skills. I would treat them as special weapons until a FAQ is released.
Another issue is do they get 3 parries if they have 3 boneswords? The rules for Boneswords only consider single or paired weapons, but would an additional bonesword just be treated as a separate entry or just not count the parry?

   
Made in se
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend




Uppsala, Sweden

Related:

Imagine a Tau is on Overwatch _and_ can do Supporting Fire.
Can they fire twice, first with Overwatch then with Supporting Fire? Probably not.
Will shooting Supporting Fire cause them to loose Overwatch. Maybe.

What are your thoughts?
   
Made in hk
Regular Dakkanaut







 Dravis wrote:
This rule appears to be only for the Ravener special operative as it does have more then two pairs of arms. Not sure if that is a mistake or intentional. As written Warriors only gain 1 attack from having 2 close combat weapons, no bonus from extra weapons other then not losing the first bonus if you take a basic weapon.
This brings up an issue with Bio-Cannons, they are not stated to be basic, special or heavy; so RAW they wouldn't remove the Attack Bonus, though that is silly, also how do they interact with some of the shooting skills. I would treat them as special weapons until a FAQ is released.
Another issue is do they get 3 parries if they have 3 boneswords? The rules for Boneswords only consider single or paired weapons, but would an additional bonesword just be treated as a separate entry or just not count the parry?


Oh, gosh, thanks for the heads up on this. We'll have to build a consensus on this in our meta.

   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Each SO share their kill teams special rule. read under Special Operatives in rule book.pg 108
   
 
Forum Index » Games Workshop Board Games & Specialist/Legacy Games
Go to: