So here is the issue.
In 6th edition if memory serves they had clear instruction (with a picture) on how a unit on a lower level of a ruin could assault a unit on an upper level without needing to be in "base contact" by simply being directly under the target unit. Still counting as engaged.
I've been playing it this way for a long time. However this came into question recently in a game I was playing having my Wraithlord assault a thunderfire cannon that was on the second level of ruins. Rolling snake eyes for the assault distance (I was only 1" away infront of the ruined building) while the roll wasn't enough to climb up to the same level and make base contact, it was more than enough to be directly beneath (though physically the wraithlord is taller than the ruins and physically unable to actually fit so a marker would be used)
So I looked through the 7th edition rulebook thinking "I know ive seen this as a totally legal way to declare a charge before and it hasnt been an issue for years..." but i just cant find any reference to assaulting units in a higher level. No reference at all that I can see so assuming that 7th ed did away with being able to assault by any other means that being in base contact (except for walls and barricades where there is still an exception) then does this mean that if a unit completely occupies the surface of ruin on a higher level, that there is no way for an assault army to declare a charge against them if no model can physically stand on the same floor level?
Hope this isn't too confusing and I can hopefuly get some clarification here.
|