Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 02:29:17
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If you deploy your unit in a transport, and then on your first turn disembark, are you essentially getting a free 3" ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 02:32:52
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Looks that way. Might be able to pull off a turn one assault with a fast unit on a close deployment, but with all the assault changes, tying someone up on the first turn isn't the gimmick it used to be.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 02:36:21
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
McGibs wrote:Looks that way. Might be able to pull off a turn one assault with a fast unit on a close deployment, but with all the assault changes, tying someone up on the first turn isn't the gimmick it used to be.
Interesting. Not particularly interested in the first-turn assault, but it's annoying that advantage exists and will likely skew the necessity of including transports in a competitive environment.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 02:45:05
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I think it's also important to note that it says 'within 3", not wholly within.
if only 1% of your base must be within 3", you basically get 3"+99% of your base size of movement, before you actually move.
I kinda hope they clarify this as wholly within, but we'll see. But even then, that's a good bit of movement.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 02:51:25
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Galef wrote:I think it's also important to note that it says 'within 3", not wholly within.
if only 1% of your base must be within 3", you basically get 3"+99% of your base size of movement, before you actually move.
I kinda hope they clarify this as wholly within, but we'll see. But even then, that's a good bit of movement.
Right, so 3.9999999 inches added to your first movement, if you so choose to 1) take a transport, 2) disembark on turn 1. I'm hoping transports are slightly more costly than in previous editions.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/28 02:51:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 03:40:25
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Martial Arts Fiday
|
Previous editions had the same rules. The sky is still there.
|
"Holy Sh*&, you've opened my eyes and changed my mind about this topic, thanks Dakka OT!"
-Nobody Ever
Proverbs 18:2
"CHEESE!" is the battlecry of the ill-prepared.
warboss wrote:
GW didn't mean to hit your wallet and I know they love you, baby. I'm sure they won't do it again so it's ok to purchase and make up. 
Albatross wrote:I think SlaveToDorkness just became my new hero.
EmilCrane wrote:Finecast is the new Matt Ward.
Don't mess with the Blade and Bolter! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 03:53:10
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle
|
Except you can't charge out of most transports in older editions.
|
Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 04:33:45
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
It's the other way I'm worried about. Because you can embark at the end of your move and then the transport can then move, and there are no side/rear AVs, and it's quite a hit on the models inside if your transport if it's destroyed... there is no reason to NOT simply deploy the transport side facing with it's unit set up outside behind it and then just embark turn 1. We could easily see, with the rules as they are, all transports, hell - all vehicles, just starting the game sideways on to shield everything behind them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 04:41:24
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
In 2nd edition your could charge out of transports.
So many players think 3rd thru 7th is the ONLY 40k versions that exist as posted in so many threads and rules reflections that Ive read.
It is just odd. If you started in 3rd or 5th or whatever....remember the game was around a couple decades prior. Perhaps the rules were not the same or even existed but most of the fluff and most of the units were around before in some fashion (even if not in model form) prior to 3rd.
Whether I love or hate 8th edition its good to see a good deal of older ideas redone.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/28 04:42:33
koooaei wrote:We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 04:48:58
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Poly Ranger wrote:It's the other way I'm worried about. Because you can embark at the end of your move and then the transport can then move, and there are no side/rear AVs, and it's quite a hit on the models inside if your transport if it's destroyed... there is no reason to NOT simply deploy the transport side facing with it's unit set up outside behind it and then just embark turn 1. We could easily see, with the rules as they are, all transports, hell - all vehicles, just starting the game sideways on to shield everything behind them.
How many things are completely out of LoS from a sideways tank?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 10:38:57
Subject: Re:8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
You can only disembark before movement, so that's a hard no.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 10:44:08
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian
|
DevilsPox wrote:Poly Ranger wrote:It's the other way I'm worried about. Because you can embark at the end of your move and then the transport can then move, and there are no side/rear AVs, and it's quite a hit on the models inside if your transport if it's destroyed... there is no reason to NOT simply deploy the transport side facing with it's unit set up outside behind it and then just embark turn 1. We could easily see, with the rules as they are, all transports, hell - all vehicles, just starting the game sideways on to shield everything behind them.
How many things are completely out of LoS from a sideways tank?
Quite a lot. Using a rhino or chimera to turbo-boost in front of a unit after shooting was used quite regularly. Now there is literally no downside (As far as we know) to making a chimera wall to block shooting to the army turn1 if going second and then move them out of the way turn 1. Automatically Appended Next Post: Purifier wrote:You can only disembark before movement, so that's a hard no.
If that was aimed at me, I wasn't talking about embarking, moving then *disembarking*. Just the first two. There is no advantage to deploying inside your transport at the start of the game if it can shield the unit by being sideways on on turn1. That's what I'm saying.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/28 10:46:28
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 11:36:06
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
Poly Ranger wrote:
If that was aimed at me, I wasn't talking about embarking, moving then *disembarking*. Just the first two. There is no advantage to deploying inside your transport at the start of the game if it can shield the unit by being sideways on on turn1. That's what I'm saying.
It was aimed at the thread title. Although, now that I think about it, he might have meant disembark before movement and then move. Can you move after a disembark? I would have assumed that was the move.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/05/28 11:37:51
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 12:03:00
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Purifier wrote:Poly Ranger wrote:
If that was aimed at me, I wasn't talking about embarking, moving then *disembarking*. Just the first two. There is no advantage to deploying inside your transport at the start of the game if it can shield the unit by being sideways on on turn1. That's what I'm saying.
It was aimed at the thread title. Although, now that I think about it, he might have meant disembark before movement and then move. Can you move after a disembark? I would have assumed that was the move.
In the new rules (8th) yes. You disembark, then make a normal move.
In 5th edition, units could disembark from any transport before it moved and still assault. The difference was, 5th was a 6" disembark with no additional move, 8th is 3" disembark with additional move. Depending on unit speed, you are gaining 2-3" for most infantry units.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/05/28 12:05:42
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/05/28 13:14:42
Subject: 8th Deploying in a Transport = 3" free inches?
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
kronk wrote:
In the new rules (8th) yes. You disembark, then make a normal move.
In 5th edition, units could disembark from any transport before it moved and still assault. The difference was, 5th was a 6" disembark with no additional move, 8th is 3" disembark with additional move. Depending on unit speed, you are gaining 2-3" for most infantry units.
This speed boost is going to become even more obvious with the new movement stat. Primaris Marines have a standard 6" movement, I highly doubt Orks or IG are going to be reaching that.
A real increase to speed, general endurance, no detachment restrictions and now they can charge and sink overwatch. Are transports going to be OP in 8th?
|
Psienesis wrote:I've... seen things... you people wouldn't believe. Milk cartons on fire off the shoulder of 3rd-hour English; I watched Cheez-beams glitter in the dark near the Admin Parking Gate... All those... moments... will be lost, in time, like tears... in... rain. Time... to die.
"The Emperor points, and we obey,
Through the warp and far away."
-A Guardsman's Ballad |
|
 |
 |
|