People in my group are saying when using Str
it is the umodified Str
and not the adjusted Str
granted from the weapon.
So, in the above case the Str
+1 would apply toward wounding but it would only be the Str
mod for the armor save modifier. A CSM
4 is using the above weapon- he uses Str
5 to see if he wounds but the armor save is only -3 (1 for str
2 for the weapon).
Can someone point me to the rule that states to use the modifier for both wounding and armor?
They have misinterpreted the rules, but it is a very understandable confusion. Because the phrase "fighters own strength" over the table on page 42 is a pretty bad wording, and the rules concerning this is spread out on several pages of the book.
Check Page 53 - It's the second page of the Armoury, where Weapon profiles are explained. The last paragraph under Hand-to-Hand combat weapons says Save Modifier.
"... in the case of weapons that acts as a bonus to their wielders Strength, remember to calculate the save modifier using the total Strength after the bonus has been applied to the model itself (see Armour Modifiers, pg42)."
(page nrs from the first print of the book, not sure if the numbering is the same in the second)