Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/03 02:59:03
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Unless I am missing a page, it seems GW doesn't give much advice about dedicated transports and how they are deployed.
1 - does the unit that "paid" for the transport have to be deployed inside it?
2 - can it be deployed empty?
3 - can other units also be deployed inside it (provided there is room)?
4 - is the only difference between a dedicated transport and a non-dedicated one is the latter takes up a slot on the FOC?
5 - If you can deploy multiple units in transports and disembark them on turn one (with a 3" free move) is this a sneaky way to deploy more units at a time, so that you can finish deploying sooner and choose who goes first?
5a - If you deploy multiple units in a transport by putting the transport on the table, do these units count as the 50% of your army deployed?
The fifth question is more a tactics question, but follows from 3 above.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/03 03:02:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/03 03:52:12
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
I think yes to all.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/03 04:24:14
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Fireknife Shas'el
Lisbon, Portugal
|
JimOnMars wrote:Unless I am missing a page, it seems GW doesn't give much advice about dedicated transports and how they are deployed.
1 - does the unit that "paid" for the transport have to be deployed inside it?
2 - can it be deployed empty?
3 - can other units also be deployed inside it (provided there is room)?
4 - is the only difference between a dedicated transport and a non-dedicated one is the latter takes up a slot on the FOC?
5 - If you can deploy multiple units in transports and disembark them on turn one (with a 3" free move) is this a sneaky way to deploy more units at a time, so that you can finish deploying sooner and choose who goes first?
5a - If you deploy multiple units in a transport by putting the transport on the table, do these units count as the 50% of your army deployed?
The fifth question is more a tactics question, but follows from 3 above.
1 - no, because everything can buy a dedicated transport now. even a tank lets you get a dedicated transport. of course, only if your detachment has enough dedicated transport slots.
2 & 3 - yes
4 - yes
5 - I guess so.
5a - I think that they do. After all, they're different units
|
AI & BFG: / BMG: Mr. Freeze, Deathstroke / Battletech: SR, OWA / Fallout Factions: BoS / HGB: Caprice / Malifaux: Arcanists, Guild, Outcasts / MCP: Mutants / SAGA: Ordensstaat / SW Legion: CIS / WWX: Union
Unit1126PLL wrote:"FW is unbalanced and going to ruin tournaments."
"Name one where it did that."
"IT JUST DOES OKAY!"
Shadenuat wrote:Voted Astra Militarum for a chance for them to get nerfed instead of my own army. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/03 05:50:38
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
JimOnMars wrote:1 - does the unit that "paid" for the transport have to be deployed inside it?
Units will no longer pay for their Dedicated Transports. It will be a flexible slot based on the number of other slots in the detachment you fill.
Why not? No unit is associated with its purchase.
JimOnMars wrote:3 - can other units also be deployed inside it (provided there is room)?
That IS the point of a Transport. Or were you referencing point number 1? If so, there will be no "other untis" in this senario.
JimOnMars wrote:4 - is the only difference between a dedicated transport and a non-dedicated one is the latter takes up a slot on the FOC?
No. Dedicated Transports will take up a slot in the FOC, as it will be an actual, recognized slot now.
The difference will be that one will be that regular Transports are in a Elite/Flyer/Fast Attack/Heavy Support/Lord of War slot, and the other is in a Dedicated Transport Slot with the number of slots available based on the HQ/Elite/Flyer/Fast Attack/Heavy Support/Lord of War slot that you have filled. I don't know if Fortifications count as this, as I haven't checked to see if they are considered units.
JimOnMars wrote:5 - If you can deploy multiple units in transports and disembark them on turn one (with a 3" free move) is this a sneaky way to deploy more units at a time, so that you can finish deploying sooner and choose who goes first?
No more sneaky than before if you meta considered using this as a consideration. Note that one of the reasons that multiple units are allowed to be in Transports is that Independent Characters no longer exist, so that is the only way your Captain will be riding a Drop Pod with your Devastator Squad. Capacity is still a thing, so you have to be careful with it.
JimOnMars wrote:5a - If you deploy multiple units in a transport by putting the transport on the table, do these units count as the 50% of your army deployed?
If units in a Transport count as Deployed, then yes. I don't see why they wouldn't, as the unit is on the table and can be affected by actions on the table (though more difficult than usual), even if the models are not.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/03 05:51:05
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/03 10:05:11
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
JimOnMars wrote:
5 - If you can deploy multiple units in transports and disembark them on turn one (with a 3" free move) is this a sneaky way to deploy more units at a time, so that you can finish deploying sooner and choose who goes first?
I get the impression that this would not reduce your number of deployments. You deploy the transport. Then your opponent deploys a unit. You deploy a unit in the transport. Then your opponent deploys a unit. You deploy a second unit in the transport. etc.
So makes no difference.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/03 17:36:03
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Drager wrote: JimOnMars wrote:
5 - If you can deploy multiple units in transports and disembark them on turn one (with a 3" free move) is this a sneaky way to deploy more units at a time, so that you can finish deploying sooner and choose who goes first?
I get the impression that this would not reduce your number of deployments. You deploy the transport. Then your opponent deploys a unit. You deploy a unit in the transport. Then your opponent deploys a unit. You deploy a second unit in the transport. etc.
So makes no difference.
Hmm.... we need the FAQ.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/03 18:41:12
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Fully-charged Electropriest
UK
|
I think they are deployed with the transport as the transport rules say you must declare which units are embarked in them when you deploy the transport. This would imply the units are deployed in the transport, when the transport is deployed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/03 19:26:59
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I think Loopstah is right:
"When you set up a transport, units can start the battle embarked within it instead of being set up separately -- declare what units are embarked inside the transport when you set it up."
Surely this isn't telling you that when you deploy a transport you must then always declare: "there are no units embarked inside this transport and it is impossible that there would be because I haven't had a chance to deploy units into the transport yet".
As for whether units in transports count for purposes of determining whether 50% of your army is on the battlefield, that seems like a tricky question.
The Tactical Reserves rule says: "at least half the total number of units in your army must be set up on the battlefield"
The transport capacity rules are somewhat ambiguous as to whether units that "start the battle embarked within [a transport]" count as being set up "on the battlefield" -- it is only clear that they are not "set up separately".
The disembark section of the transport rules says: ""When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that..."
Meanwhile, when models embark, you "Remove the unit from the battlefield and place it to one side".
The plain reading of this has got to be that models embarked on a transport are not "on the battlefield", and so it seems like a huge stretch to say that they are nevertheless "set up on the battlefield". It is also very awkward if, to disembark a unit, you set up a unit on the battlefield that is already set up on the battlefield despite also not being on the battlefield. It is also worth noting that the C'tan Shard of the Deceiver's Grand Illusion ability tells you to remove units from the battlefield before setting them up again, so the language here is different when it's wanting to be clear that you're setting up units that were already set up.
This would mean that units embarked in transports do not count towards the 50% of your army that must be set up on the battlefield. It also means that units that do not disembark by the end of the third round count as having been destroyed. Units that have embarked during the actual game are safe since they did at one point arrive on the battlefield.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/03 19:32:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/04 00:29:48
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
Dionysodorus wrote:I think Loopstah is right:
"When you set up a transport, units can start the battle embarked within it instead of being set up separately -- declare what units are embarked inside the transport when you set it up."
Surely this isn't telling you that when you deploy a transport you must then always declare: "there are no units embarked inside this transport and it is impossible that there would be because I haven't had a chance to deploy units into the transport yet".
Where is this in the rules? I can't find it in any of the leaked pages.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/04 01:37:51
Subject: Dedicated transports and deployment in 8e
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
JimOnMars wrote:
Where is this in the rules? I can't find it in any of the leaked pages.
For some reason it's on the right side of the Morale Phase page, in the black box labeled "Transports". Second paragraph of the "Transport Capacity" section.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/04 01:38:09
|
|
 |
 |
|