Switch Theme:

Charging unit cannot allocate any attacks to a character who heroically intervened?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





Fight rules indicate that you can only allocate hits to a unit you charged if you charged this turn. So this means a character that joins in a fight cannot be targeted by any model he gets into contact with if they charged that turn. Doesn't this seem a little odd? You could potentially have a model in a 3rd rank not able to attack the charged unit, but a defending character within 3" of him walks up and can smack him with impunity.
   
Made in lt
Mysterious Techpriest






Seems fine to me

Mathammer(primarily Chaos Daemons, Adeptus Mechanicus, Necrons and Orks) https://drive.google.com/open?id=1mhwa-d77ztppXP9ZUQxur9HewqDTFZ6k
12k pts Daemons
5k pts Orks
5k pts AdMech
3k pts Necrons  
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





 bullyboy wrote:
Fight rules indicate that you can only allocate hits to a unit you charged if you charged this turn. So this means a character that joins in a fight cannot be targeted by any model he gets into contact with if they charged that turn. Doesn't this seem a little odd? You could potentially have a model in a 3rd rank not able to attack the charged unit, but a defending character within 3" of him walks up and can smack him with impunity.

where are you seeing that? All I see is that an enemy model has to be 1" away or 1" away from your own guy who is 1" away from an enemy.

The pile in move works the same way. Once all interventions and pile-ins are done, then measure and pick targets.
   
Made in us
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





 JimOnMars wrote:
 bullyboy wrote:
Fight rules indicate that you can only allocate hits to a unit you charged if you charged this turn. So this means a character that joins in a fight cannot be targeted by any model he gets into contact with if they charged that turn. Doesn't this seem a little odd? You could potentially have a model in a 3rd rank not able to attack the charged unit, but a defending character within 3" of him walks up and can smack him with impunity.

where are you seeing that? All I see is that an enemy model has to be 1" away or 1" away from your own guy who is 1" away from an enemy.

The pile in move works the same way. Once all interventions and pile-ins are done, then measure and pick targets.


Right under "Choose Targets" in Fight Phase.

"Models that charged this turn can only target enemy units that they charged in the previous phase". Unless you charged the character, looks like you can't target him in assault, even if he heroically intervenes and joins the fight. Seems a bit off.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





Huh, missed that. Seems like you are right. Needs FAQ.
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Jackson, TN

If the character is within the 12" range, you can declare him as one of your charge targets, along with the unit it is near. You only have to worry about that character getting it's overwatch and can allocate hits to it, if it joins the fight.
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





It seems this effects the pile in also, which makes it basically pointless. The piled in unit gets to fight but we can't allocate wounds to it. Why bother piling in at all?

ETA: Just chatted with Reece on frontline's FAQ thread. He confirmed it. No fighting for charging units against heroic intervention and new units engaged through pile-in.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/05 04:34:54


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: