Switch Theme:

8th Transports with Firing Points + advancing  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Sister Oh-So Repentia





Forgive me if I've missed this somewhere in the core rules, but I have the following query:

- If a Transport with a 'fire-point' (e.g. Stormlord 'Extended Firing Deck' ability or Goliath Truck 'Open-Topped' ability) advances during the movement phase, does this have any affect on what weapons the embarked unit can shoot?

- Adepta Sororitas Dominions have a 'Vanguard' ability that they can use or confer to their transport, that is basically like a 7th ed Scout move. Considering the wording on this ability is 'as if it were their movement phase', am I able to advance when completing this move? And as this takes place 'before the first player takes their turn', am I right that the transport won't count as having moved or advanced in turn 1 (unless I then proceed to move/advance it)?
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




The "Open-topped" rule is explicit that modifiers to and restrictions on the vehicle also apply to the passengers shooting. The Stormlord's rule doesn't seem to say anything about this.

I think that technically you can't advance. Models don't choose to advance when they move. Instead, advancing is tied to the procedure for determining the order in which models move in the Movement phase. It's not "when a unit moves in the Movement phase, you can declare that it is Advancing". It's "when you pick a unit to move in the Movement phase, you can declare that it will advance". This is before the model moves. But it's hard to be sure what's intended here.

Regardless, the state of having moved or advanced this turn would not carry over to the first turn, since the moving did not occur on the first turn.



   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Last line of the extended firing deck rule. Unit that shoot in this manner count as having moved if they or the hell hammer moved in the proceeding movement phase.

As to advancing...it doesn't say either way. There is no comment on advancing, so RAW the unit embarked did not advance. They would count t as moving per the rules but not explicitly as advancing. I would expect this to be addressed in a FAQ, makes no sense they are moving if it moves but not advancing if it advance during it's move. Needs clarity.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: