Switch Theme:

8th Ed Consolidation into new units... do the new units get to fight?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






EDIT: Ignore this. I've seen more evidence that they do indeed get a chance to fight. Sorry to waste time.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/08 20:48:42


   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Where have you seen evidence?

I was thinking of the same question but just with pile-in

as it states move to closest enemy model (which may not be the one you charged)
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Jacob29 wrote:
Where have you seen evidence?

I was thinking of the same question but just with pile-in

as it states move to closest enemy model (which may not be the one you charged)


I don't know the evidence he's talking about, but the rules are pretty clear. You resolve your fights one at a time, and consolidation happens at the end of an individual 'fight'. If you use that consolidation to get within 1" of a new enemy unit, that enemy unit now has met all the criteria to be able to declare a 'fight' during that phase as well.

So using pile-in & consolidate moves to bring additional enemy units into melee is a pretty risky tactic, because for the most part you're just allowing additional enemy units to attack without being able to attack them (because chargers can only target units that they charged, not those they used their pile-in moves to get within 1" of).



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/08 21:46:00


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





They dont get overwatch since its passed the charge phase.

I can think of a few units I would rather take melee from instead of standing there to be shot up then take their overwatch on charge.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Bigdoza wrote:
They dont get overwatch since its passed the charge phase.

I can think of a few units I would rather take melee from instead of standing there to be shot up then take their overwatch on charge.


You didn't read what I said.

I said, a unit that charges can only target enemy units that it charged in the subsequent fight phase, even if it pile-into other units, or in the case of Bezerkers, uses a consolidation to get within 1" of additional enemy units.

So if a Bezerker unit wants to be able to use its consolidation to attack a 2nd unit within a single fight phase (by consolidating into it), they will have had to have declared a charge against that unit as well (allowing that 2nd unit to fire overwatch), so that they'll have permission to attack the 2nd unit in that fight phase.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

Its possible yes, guess the tactic is to enage another unit to stop them shooting next turn.

One way to combat it is the fact you don't 'have' to pile in.

If you'v had a second unit engaged in this way and assuming the unit that engaged you has not charged this phase, in all likelihood he may of only got one or two models in.

you can just stand there and fight it out without piling in to further wrap you unit in combat in the hopes the 1" will be broken either by your attacks or his so you are free in your turn again.

its prob tricky and situational.

pilein's in this ed are very tactical, it will pay sometimes not to do it

 
   
Made in us
Pewling Menial




KY, US

 yakface wrote:
Bigdoza wrote:
They dont get overwatch since its passed the charge phase.

I can think of a few units I would rather take melee from instead of standing there to be shot up then take their overwatch on charge.


You didn't read what I said.

I said, a unit that charges can only target enemy units that it charged in the subsequent fight phase, even if it pile-into other units, or in the case of Bezerkers, uses a consolidation to get within 1" of additional enemy units.

So if a Bezerker unit wants to be able to use its consolidation to attack a 2nd unit within a single fight phase (by consolidating into it), they will have had to have declared a charge against that unit as well (allowing that 2nd unit to fire overwatch), so that they'll have permission to attack the 2nd unit in that fight phase.



How does this work with say, two units charging a transport with a unit inside? I suppose you cant declare the unit inside as a charge target, therefore if the first unit kills the Transport, your second unit could not fight the unit that hops out, correct?
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

No they'd be unengaged

They (the second unit) also 'should' not be able to be withing 1" of the enemies that were in the transports because when you disembark you cannot move within 1" of anyone.

edit: actually you could potentially still engage the disembarkers with the first unit (the one that blew up the transport) because they can make a 3" consolidate move

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/06/15 10:50:03


 
   
Made in us
Pewling Menial




KY, US

 Latro_ wrote:
No they'd be unengaged

They (the second unit) also 'should' not be able to be withing 1" of the enemies that were in the transports because when you disembark you cannot move within 1" of anyone.

edit: actually you could potentially still engage the disembarkers with the first unit (the one that blew up the transport) because they can make a 3" consolidate move


Charging units may pile in, tho. To a unit that they cannot target, because the first (and only available) target was destroyed. Weird rule interaction.

I also suppose that means that Heroic Intervention is free attacks against a charging unit?
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






 gally912 wrote:
 Latro_ wrote:
No they'd be unengaged

They (the second unit) also 'should' not be able to be withing 1" of the enemies that were in the transports because when you disembark you cannot move within 1" of anyone.

edit: actually you could potentially still engage the disembarkers with the first unit (the one that blew up the transport) because they can make a 3" consolidate move


Charging units may pile in, tho. To a unit that they cannot target, because the first (and only available) target was destroyed. Weird rule interaction.

I also suppose that means that Heroic Intervention is free attacks against a charging unit?


It would have to be. If my characters are safe because they are behind another unit i would be incredibly disinclined to add them to a melee where that benefit means nothing. By making the character able to join with heroic intervention so it can attack but not be attacked for that first round of combat i now very much want to add them in and try to end the fight as quickly as possible in my favor.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


If the character is within 12" of the charging unit, you can always declare a multi-charge including the character so that if they do use heroic intervention to get within 1" you'd then be able to attack them.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: