Switch Theme:

Spirit Stones/Fortune vs. Disgustingly Resilient wording  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Fortune - "whenever that unit suffers a wound, roll a d6"
Spirit Stones - "whenever that unit suffers a unsaved wound, roll a d6"
Iconward - "..loses a wound, on a 6 the wound is ignored"
Disgustingly Resilient - "..loses a wound, roll a D6.."

When do you roll to "save" for Fortune and Spirit Stones vs. Iconward and Disgustingly Resilient?

After Step 5 of Resolving Attacks and the unit takes damage?

   
Made in ca
Mutilatin' Mad Dok





HERO wrote:
Fortune - "whenever that unit suffers a wound, roll a d6"
Spirit Stones - "whenever that unit suffers a unsaved wound, roll a d6"
Iconward - "..loses a wound, on a 6 the wound is ignored"
Disgustingly Resilient - "..loses a wound, roll a D6.."

When do you roll to "save" for Fortune and Spirit Stones vs. Iconward and Disgustingly Resilient?

After Step 5 of Resolving Attacks and the unit takes damage?
Pretty sure it's wounds != damage in this case, so if I'm not mistaken, the order of operations should look something like these:

Fortune - roll to hit, roll to wound, roll for fortune, roll for save, apply damage
Spirit stones - roll to hit, roll to wound, roll to save, roll for spirit stones, apply damage
Iconward - roll to hit, roll to wound, roll to save, apply damage rolling a d6 for each wound lost
Disgustingly Resilient - roll to hit, roll to wound, roll to save, apply damage rolling a d6 for each wound lost
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

The different wording is frustrating, but I think it is clear that the intent is to roll once a models Wounds characteristic is lowered by any measure.
This would be after failed saves and damage is applied. 'Successfully wounding a model' merely determines how many saves are needed, but does not count as "suffering a wound" unless that save is failed (at which point damage is applied). Then you get to roll any of these abilities for each wound suffered

So if a damage 2 "wound" is unsaved, you can then roll 1 dice per damage (2) for those abilities.
Even if a 1 wound model is the target, that model is still suffering 2 wounds, thus 2 rolls are needed.

-

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/15 16:56:52


   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




So this actually came up the other night and it seems to me that the interpretation for spirit stones is that you roll immediately after the failed save, prior to determining any damage.

The fact that it goes out of its way to say "...suffers an unsaved wound..." instead of just "...suffers a wound..."

Gah. Really wish there were standard definitions. Why couldn't it just say "whenever it suffers Damage"?
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





Try not overthinking it and see how it goes.

(Hint: They all work the same way, as 'unsaved', 'suffers', 'loses', etc., are functionally synonymous.)
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Wyloch wrote:
So this actually came up the other night and it seems to me that the interpretation for spirit stones is that you roll immediately after the failed save, prior to determining any damage.

The fact that it goes out of its way to say "...suffers an unsaved wound..." instead of just "...suffers a wound..."

Gah. Really wish there were standard definitions. Why couldn't it just say "whenever it suffers Damage"?


They all work the same, despite the different wording. From the designer's notes PDF:

Q: When rolling for abilities such as ‘Disgustingly Resilient' or ‘Tenacious Survivor' against attacks which inflict multiple wounds, do you roll to ignore each individual wound inflicted by the attack, or do you roll only once to ignore all the wounds inflicted by the attack?
A: Roll to avoid each wound lost separately.

For example, if a model with Disgustingly Resilient fails its saving throw against an attack made by a thunder hammer (Damage 3), you would roll three dice and for each result of 5+ you would ignore a single wound.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: