Switch Theme:

Khorne berserkers question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stubborn White Lion





UK

So this has been bugging my gaming group since we saw the leaked rules

When a unit charges the rules state that a unit must direct all of its attacks towards charged units but if a unit of berserkers kills the unit they charged outright on the first round of attacks and consolidates to within an inch of another unit can they activate and swing at the second unit with their second set of attacks or can't they as it isn't the unit they initially charged?

The chaos player (of corse he does) believes they can and I do too but some of the other players think they can't.





 
   
Made in us
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

Did the khorne bezerkers charge this turn: Yes
Are they trying to attack a unit they charged in the previous phase: No

Therefore they cannot attack them.

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Mantle wrote:
So this has been bugging my gaming group since we saw the leaked rules

When a unit charges the rules state that a unit must direct all of its attacks towards charged units but if a unit of berserkers kills the unit they charged outright on the first round of attacks and consolidates to within an inch of another unit can they activate and swing at the second unit with their second set of attacks or can't they as it isn't the unit they initially charged?

The chaos player (of corse he does) believes they can and I do too but some of the other players think they can't.


It is something that purposely limits Khorne Bezerkers a bit on the charge. They really need to go after a tough unit to maximize their double attack, rather than pulping an easy one to move onto another easy one.

But tell your friend this trick: All he has to do is declare a charge against the 2nd unit he wants to consolidate into (as long as it is within 12" of where his Bezerkers are charging from). Yes, he'll have to eat overwatch fire from that extra unit to do this, but then he'll be able to pile-in/consolidate into that second unit and be allowed to attack them that same turn.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Emboldened Warlock




Widnes UK

While probably not what was intended by that statement RAW states that you can only attack what you charged in the phase before. This restriction doesn't disappear after the first time you fight. You could get around this due to "charged unit" not being well defined by declaring both units as targets when you charge even if you only move into combat with one of them to begin with. Of course this has the downside of letting a second unit overwatch you.

Ulthwe: 7500 points 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: