Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/19 12:13:44
Subject: Questions after my first game of 8th
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So I played my first game of 8th edition yesterday and ofcourse some questions. The list:
1. Can ground units charge Flyers?
2. Can a flyer move at 360 degrees, or is it in a 90 degree arc?
3. Can vehicles drive over terrain?
Many thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/19 12:31:22
Subject: Questions after my first game of 8th
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
1) Flyers can be charge by ground units, however, units with Airbourne or similar rule (like the Razorwing Jetfighter) can't.
2) Flyers move the same as other models, however, units with Airbourne or similar rule (like the Razorwing Jetfighter) move differently, specified in their rule.
3) Yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/19 12:42:05
Subject: Questions after my first game of 8th
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
1. Ground units can not charge a model with the "Airborne" rule. Other models with just "Fly" keyword are chargeable like normal.
2. Models that have the "Supersonic" rule can only turn 90degree and them move forward in a straight line.
3. Unless the terrain is or has a solid wall, it can move through it with no penalty.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/19 12:42:18
Subject: Questions after my first game of 8th
|
 |
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon
|
1. Yes.
However, some specific flyers have a special Airborne rule that means that they can't be charged by non-flyers.
The data sheet will specifically mention if this is the case.
2. No limitations on turning, unless specified in the data sheet.
There's no turning in 8th ed., so a minimum move distance just means you need to be that far in any direction from your starting point (you can't just claim to have flown in a circle and stayed where you are despite the minimum distance.)
3. Sure - unless it's impassible. The normal rules for terrain and movement apply - so driving over a hill would use movement to drive up it, and then back down.
You and your opponent might agree (or a TO may dictate) that certain terrain is impassible for units for the Vehicle or Titanic keywords - if so that would hopefully be established before the game.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/19 12:57:52
Subject: Questions after my first game of 8th
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks for the quick replies. A follow up question.
Do airbourne units have a 360 degree line of sight when they shoot?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/19 13:02:17
Subject: Questions after my first game of 8th
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
|
One thing on terrain is you cannot pass through terrain at all. So you can't have a tank drive through a wood if there are trees which would get in the way (unless it can circumnavigate them)
you can technically drive over a tree though XD
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/19 15:25:03
Subject: Questions after my first game of 8th
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
Kryddbov wrote:Thanks for the quick replies. A follow up question.
Do airbourne units have a 360 degree line of sight when they shoot?
Everything does.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/19 23:39:46
Subject: Questions after my first game of 8th
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
speaking of trees. Do woods NO LONGER block LOS???
And the stratagem of counter Charge for 2 CP.
Can you tell how that actually works.
My opponent said it only permitted a unit ALREADY locked in hth to make a charge.
I did not think you could charge ONCE in hth already.
I thought I could get a nearby unit to charge in....but perhaps it is a Fight phase only stratagem and not Charge + Fight phase....I'm just confused please clarify
|
koooaei wrote:We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 02:42:05
Subject: Re:Questions after my first game of 8th
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The Counter Offensive Stratagem allows you to interrupt the normal sequence of attack ins the Fight Phase. Normal resolution is:
1. All units that charged in the Charge Phase make their attacks in the order decided by the player attacking
2. The players then alternate having units attack, starting with the player who's turn it is until all units have attacked
Counter Offensive allows the player who's turn it isn't have one of their units attack after the first charging unit has attacked and before the remainder of the charging units attack. This only works for units that are already in fight range (within 1" of enemy units, or 3" if a character making a Heroic Intervention).
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/20 02:43:11
|
|
 |
 |
|