Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 04:17:15
Subject: Units and coherency help
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
So I was told you can buy vehicles like war walkers but they can be deployed and act separately since there are no such thing as vehicle squadrons.
I also noted that 2" is the distance 'models' in a unit need to be from each other.
Under Units it mentions that there are 1 or more models in said unit.
No where do I see where a single unit can split up its models anywhere.
No where can I find that a unit with 3 vypers can do anything but keep all models within 2" of another model.
Am I getting this correct?
If I cast Fortune on A UNIT of War Walkers and they are all 2" from another model in the unit then they all get the Psychic benefit?
Now lets say in some strange rules/scenario whaterver that I have 50 Conscripts in a conga line across the battlefield and someway I can cast Fortune with a Farseer on them. Now half the models die in the middle for whatever reason and we have like 2 feet gap between the models of the unit. AND I cast Fortune on said Conscripts....do they all still benefit since they are still 1 unit, even though they can never move again to attain coherency???
thanks
wes
|
koooaei wrote:We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 04:26:23
Subject: Re:Units and coherency help
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
All models remain in a unit unless given a specific exception like this from the Ork Deff Dread datasheet:
Dread Mob: A unit of Deff Dreads must be deployed as a single group, with each model within 6" of at least one other model from their unit. From that point on, each Deff Dread acts as a single unit.
War Walkers have no such exception. If purchased as a single detachment choice they remain a single unit.
Also note, 'Fortune' can only be cast on units with the ASURYANI faction keyword. You would not be able to cast it on Conscripts.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/20 04:30:55
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 04:28:18
Subject: Re:Units and coherency help
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
Ghaz wrote:All War Walkers have no such exception. If purchased as a single detachment choice they remain a single unit.
So do they have a 2" coherency set up? correct....same with vypers and any other 'tank' type units that do not have a special rule?
|
koooaei wrote:We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 04:32:11
Subject: Re:Units and coherency help
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
admironheart wrote: Ghaz wrote:All War Walkers have no such exception. If purchased as a single detachment choice they remain a single unit.
So do they have a 2" coherency set up? correct....same with vypers and any other 'tank' type units that do not have a special rule?
Yes, 2" is unit coherency. There is no extended coherency for vehicle squadrons in the current edition.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 04:36:12
Subject: Units and coherency help
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
tyvm yakface
Wes
|
koooaei wrote:We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 06:03:48
Subject: Units and coherency help
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
|
Interestingly there is nothing stopping you removing casualties to break coherency as far as i can tell.
might be useful if you are spread over two objs
you could push it further that you only have to re-establish coherency when you move,,, well if you decide not to move...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 16:57:05
Subject: Units and coherency help
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
|
nice catch.
That could come up more often than not. So you keep 1 model on the objective. Kill the middle model and use the 3rd to keep opponent locked in hth so they cant contest the late turn objective grab
|
koooaei wrote:We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 18:13:51
Subject: Units and coherency help
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
Are single units allowed to control multiple objectives, or is it forbidden like it was last edition?
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/06/20 18:52:05
Subject: Units and coherency help
|
 |
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut
|
In 8th you simply control an objective if you have more models with 3" of the center of it than you opponent.
makes the above tactic with a big blob particularity handy
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/20 18:55:04
|
|
 |
 |
|