Switch Theme:

Reserves, matched play, and transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




Does a unit set up inside a transport vehicle count as being "on the battlefield" for purposes of how many units can begin the game in reserve in matched play?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





You can setup the transport and all units inside it as one deployment, however they are still separate units.

Tactical reserves deals with the total number of units, not the total number of deployments, so you include all the units in the army before deployment of anything to determine how many can be placed in tactical reserves.
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

no it does not, nor does it count as deploying more than one unit.

 
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest



UK

They count as being on the battlefield but only one deployment drop.

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

blackarmchair wrote:
Does a unit set up inside a transport vehicle count as being "on the battlefield" for purposes of how many units can begin the game in reserve in matched play?


RAW no. RAI almost certainly.

Needs to be FAQ'd.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




That's interesting. So I can effectively "double dip" by putting a bunch of units into a transport and thereby justify a bunch of deep-striking units.
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





So

When it comes to how many units you can have in reserve, count up the total number of units in your arm list, then half that.

When you deploy transports you can deploy a unit within them its counts as a single deployment, for the IGYG deployment, and helps you potentially have first turn

Declaring a unit in reserve counts as a deployment for the IGYG deployment
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

GodDamUser wrote:
So

When it comes to how many units you can have in reserve, count up the total number of units in your arm list, then half that.

When you deploy transports you can deploy a unit within them its counts as a single deployment, for the IGYG deployment, and helps you potentially have first turn

Declaring a unit in reserve counts as a deployment for the IGYG deployment


It's nebulous, but I think you'd look at how many units you have deployed vs. how many you in reserve. Because many units split into multiple units when they're deployed.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





 yakface wrote:

It's nebulous, but I think you'd look at how many units you have deployed vs. how many you in reserve. Because many units split into multiple units when they're deployed.



They split into separate acting models but are still a single unit for the purposes of the army list
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

GodDamUser wrote:
They split into separate acting models but are still a single unit for the purposes of the army list


The rule says nothing about your force roster. It just says half the total number of units in your army must be set up on the battlefield.

Honestly it could be half the units on your force roster or it could be half the units in your army after everything is deployed. GW will have to FAQ it for anyone to know for sure.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
Infiltrating Broodlord





using 'Monstrous Brood' as an example

the first time this unit is set up on the battlefield, all of its models must be placed within 6" of at least 1 other model in their unit. from that point onwards, each operates independently and is treated as a separate unit.


I can see the argument either way.. but yeah reading over it again.. you can deploy it as one unit.. but then counts as several for your reserve count..
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





I'd really like to see some FAQ on this also, it could go either way. The way I interpret it is like you have three groups of units. On the table, in reserve, neither. Rules written I think what's in transports is in that third neither category, it's not in "reserves" and it's not "on the battlefield." So you need as many on the table as in the reserve, ignoring anything in a transport for either.
I also think that's probably not what was intended and they should count as on the table.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: