Switch Theme:

Pile in move  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






Unit A(1 man unit) charges unit B (1 man unit). Charge is successful both units are within 1 inch of each-other per the charge rules.
Now you pile in after you active your unit-

My opponent was trying to say Unit A could move 3" around Unit B in the pile in move. My mate and I are having a little difficulty agreeing on this rule.

I believe that it's impossible for unit A to get close to unit B so he can't move at all in his pile in - same in return goes for unit B when he activates.
He believe he can make the 3" move anyways.

Who is correct and why?


If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





The only requirement is that a model's pile in move results in them being closer to the enemy. It doesn't say they have to to directly at the enemy unit. If you were at the 1 inch away and you pile around the side and end up 0.5" away then you made a legal pile in move.
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




I don't think I understand the question. Why do you think it is impossible for unit A to get close to unit B?

The pile in move is up to 3". You can't actually move through enemy models or terrain (unless you have Fly) and you need to remain in coherency, but other than that the only special restriction on it is that each model must end its pile in move closer to the closest enemy model. It is 100% possible to move around enemy models as part of this move (though note that unless you have Fly you're not going to be able to move a 1" base model all the way around another 1" base with a 3" move).

So as long as you are not actually in btb, you have a lot of freedom in making a pile in move. Being in btb prevents piling in though because you can't possibly be closer to the model than that.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






I thought you wernt allowed to get closer than 1 inch of an enemy model at any time. Is there no requirement to make base to base if you can? This seems exceptionally idiotic. You could essentially keep getting .000001 inch closer to an enemy and just keep moving around it every pile in phase.


If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






 Xenomancers wrote:
I thought you wernt allowed to get closer than 1 inch of an enemy model at any time. Is there no requirement to make base to base if you can? This seems exceptionally idiotic. You could essentially keep getting .000001 inch closer to an enemy and just keep moving around it every pile in phase.



That's not idiotic, its the point. If you surround an enemy unit they cannot fall back. (Excepting fly and some other special rules). Besides that melee is much more deadly now. Its far easier to get higher dmg higher str weapons with more dice in melee then it is in shooting. Coupled with moral combats shouldn't last that long.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/06/23 17:03:57



These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Xenomancers wrote:
I thought you wernt allowed to get closer than 1 inch of an enemy model at any time. Is there no requirement to make base to base if you can? This seems exceptionally idiotic. You could essentially keep getting .000001 inch closer to an enemy and just keep moving around it every pile in phase.


It's only in the Movement phase where you're not allowed to get within 1".

You can stop someone from doing this repeatedly by using your own models' pile in move to get into btb.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






TY - for clearing this up guys. It makes sense now.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Abel





Washington State

As a side note, this is a common tactic in Age of Sigmar to get more of your guys into the combat AND set yourself up for the next charge.

Kara Sloan shoots through Time and Design Space for a Negative Play Experience  
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Necron Overlord






 Tamwulf wrote:
As a side note, this is a common tactic in Age of Sigmar to get more of your guys into the combat AND set yourself up for the next charge.

I am seeing that now - also - it's really changed my opinion on hormagaunts - they get a 6 inch pile in move.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in de
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Germany

I have another question regarding the pile in move.

Lets say, a squad of Poxwalkers charged a unit of Fire Warriors, both squads are locked in combat and on to the fight phase. I activate the Poxwalkers to fight and they get to make their piel in move.
As it happens, some of the Poxwalkers are nearer to the Kroot Squad standing next to the Fire Warriors than to the Fire Warriors i initially charged.
RAW, you have to pile in to the nearest model - so, those Poxwalkers would have to pile in to the Kroot, dragging them into CC - right?
The Poxwalkers would not be able to attack the Kroot since they did not charge them that turn, but the Kroot could hit back and/or are forced to fall back in their subsequent turn if they do not like the CC.
Conversely, if I as the Chaos palyer do not want to drag the Kroot into the CC, i were not allowed to pile in with the guys near to the Kroot, they would have to watch.

Please tell me if that is a correct interpretation. The other interpretation would be that you can only pile in to units you charged or you currently fight, which is however NOT how it is written.

Mischief. Mayhem. Soap. 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Backwoods bunker USA

That interpretation is correct. Pox can pile into Kroot if they end up closer. Pox can't attack Kroot cause they didn't charge Kroot but Kroot can attack back.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: