Switch Theme:

Do daemons carry Marks?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





Page 12 "Daemon Summoning" Daemons will only manifest next to an Icon of Chaos Undivided or an Icon belonging to a squad with the same Mark as the Daemons themselves" In the entry for Daemon Packs none of them bear any Mark but have all of the benefits of bearing a particular Mark. Common sense would say yes they do, but I need something more official. So for example do Plague Bearers bear the mark of Nurgle?
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine




Murfreesboro, TN

The common ones do not, but the Greater one count as an icon of their god for summoning.

And never apply common sense to GW rules. Never ever ever.

As a rule of thumb, the designers do not hide "easter eggs" in the rules. If clever reading is required to unlock some sort of hidden option, then it is most likely the result of wishful thinking.

But there's no sense crying over every mistake;
You just keep on trying till you run out of cake.

Member of the "No Retreat for Calgar" Club 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





I think you have Chaos Icons confused with Marks of Chaos. A Chaos Icon is used for daemon summoning, a Mark of Chaos is a brand which can bestow powers upon its holder.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

The Summoning entry is badly written. Daemons do not have Marks.

Ruleswise, they don't have them simply because the codex doesn't say they do.

Fluffwise, the Mark is a sign of the God's favour. Daemons are merely an aspect of the God in physical form. Giving them a Mark would be kind of like making the Christian God's foot a Saint.



 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran





So there is no way a Word Bearer army can field Nurglings
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




Pirate Ship Revenge

Sadly, no.
If I remember corectly they're allowed but since you can't get any marks of nurgle you can't actualy buy them. In effect a 0 - 0 choice.

I have nothing useful to add.
http://otzone.proboards34.com/index.cgi>the OT
Welp, that link ain't no good nomore. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: