Switch Theme:

Can you fire and charge with all weapons on 8th?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in es
Fresh-Faced New User




Hi,

I'm a veteran returning to 8th and I'm almost sure that my inertia is what is confusing me here.

I've read the rules and found nothing that indicates that a unit that shot with heavy weapons (or any other kind of weapon) can not charge in the same turn.

I'm almost sure you can fire everyhing and charge but my previous experience with warhammer is at odds with it.

Am I missing something?

The relevant rules are:

Page 179 wrote:1. Choose Unit to Shoot With In your Shooting phase you can shoot with models armed with ranged weapons.
First, you must pick one of your units to shoot with. You may not pick a unit that Advanced or Fell Back this turn, or a unit that is within 1" of an enemy unit.



Page 182 wrote:
1. Choose Unit to Charge With Any of your units within 12" of the enemy in your Charge phase can make a charge move. You may not choose a unit that Advanced or Fell Back this turn, nor one that started the Charge phase within 1" of an enemy.
   
Made in de
Experienced Maneater






Yes, you can.
   
Made in gb
Fully-charged Electropriest






You're correct, anyone can charge after firing any weapons unless that unit or weapon has an Ability that states otherwise, but I'm not aware of anything like that so far.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Gig Harbor, WA

I was really confused by this at first, in conjunction with assault weapons.

Assault weapons have literally nothing to do with assaulting. It seems an odd name choice.
   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






 argonak wrote:
I was really confused by this at first, in conjunction with assault weapons.

Assault weapons have literally nothing to do with assaulting. It seems an odd name choice.

It's odd until you realise that "assaulting" is no longer an action in 40k, so shouldn't be expected to have anything to do with charging.
   
Made in es
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks to all,

Yes, assault weapons have nothing to do with charge now. They are "useful" to run and gun.

I'm happy to see that, even if the wording of the rules is obvious I was not the only one confused.

I was doubly so when there was no mention to this on the "stepping into a new edition" FAQ

Thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: