Switch Theme:

Question about disgustingly resilient  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




So I have a rule question, hope you guys can help me out and clarify it.

In the FAQ it is stated that you Need to roll one dice for each wound lost, so multiple dice if you get hit by a Multi dmg weapon.

Now a death guard Player says, that he Need to roll only one, if the model which gets wounded has only one wound (lifepoint) in its Profile.

Because a model which only has one wound, can only "lose" one wound and therefore just Needs to roll a single dice even if it gets hit with multiple damage.

How is this handled ?

Was there any (official) tournament so far in which death guard was involved, to see how they handled it. Because I think he wont believe some forum posters.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Krynee wrote:
So I have a rule question, hope you guys can help me out and clarify it.

In the FAQ it is stated that you Need to roll one dice for each wound lost, so multiple dice if you get hit by a Multi dmg weapon.

Now a death guard Player says, that he Need to roll only one, if the model which gets wounded has only one wound (lifepoint) in its Profile.

Because a model which only has one wound, can only "lose" one wound and therefore just Needs to roll a single dice even if it gets hit with multiple damage.

How is this handled ?

Was there any (official) tournament so far in which death guard was involved, to see how they handled it. Because I think he wont believe some forum posters.
You roll the first dice. If he dies, then he can't make any more rolls. If he makes the roll, roll the next dice, and so on.

You need to do them one at a time and in order.

If he refuses to listen to the actual rules and instead wants "tournament" players to confirm his incorrectness, then he's a lost cause to begin with.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/07 09:03:34


 
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User




We currently have the same discussion. A friend of me also arguments, that a model with 1W can only lose 1W.

But in my oppinion a model can (if you read the rules) suffer 1000W or even more, it doesnt matter how many wounds it has in its profile.

So you can lose multiple wounds, even if you have only one wound in your profile.

For each damage you lose a wound. There is no rule or text that says you can only lose as many wounds as you have (left).

But he also refuses to "accept" the rules as they are written, because they are not clear in his opinion. I admit that the wording is really bad for all these rules, but it should be clear that you lose wounds per damage taken, regardless of how many wounds your model has in the profile or left.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/07/07 09:49:22


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

It should be one per Wound suffered regardless of what gets hit. Otherwise, why should a trooper shrug off a whole Lascannon hit that might utterly overkill and vaporise him? Deadly things should be deadly. :-)

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Your friend should read the Designer Notes : https://17890-presscdn-0-51-pagely.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/Warhammer_40000_Designers_Commentary-ENG.pdf

Q: When rolling for abilities such as ‘Disgustingly
Resilient’ or ‘Tenacious Survivor’ against attacks
which inflict multiple wounds, do you roll to ignore
each individual wound inflicted by the attack, or do
you roll only once to ignore all the wounds inflicted by
the attack?

A: Roll to avoid each wound lost separately

You can download them here in german : https://17890-presscdn-0-51-pagely.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/GER_Warhammer_40000_FAQ_Docs.zip
   
Made in fi
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Finland

Yup, you roll how much damage that 1W model receives and roll disgustingly resilient for each wound suffered. The rule is strong enough as it is without making false claims (like rolling only once for multiple damage wounds).

7000+
3500
2000 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Let's say it's a 6 damage weapon vs 1w models.
You would roll 6 dice (probably roll all together)
If ANY of those 6 dice fails, a SINGLE model of the enemy is killed.

Let's say it's 3 different, 6 damage weapon hits vs 1w models.
You would still only roll it 6 dice at a time.
Again, only a single model dies if any of those 6 fail.
Except you would repeat the process 3 more times. Potentially killing 3 models total.

Let's say it's a 6 mortal damage weapon vs 1w models.
You would roll 6 dice (should be fine to roll together)
For EACH dice that fails, a model of the enemy is killed. Potentially killing 6 models total.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/07/07 12:43:24



6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Talamare wrote:
Let's say it's a 6 damage weapon vs 1w models.
You would roll 6 dice (probably roll all together)
If ANY of those 6 dice fails, a SINGLE model of the enemy is killed.

Let's say it's 3 different, 6 damage weapon hits vs 1w models.
You would still only roll it 6 dice at a time.
Again, only a single model dies if any of those 6 fail.
Except you would repeat the process 3 more times. Potentially killing 3 models total.

Let's say it's a 6 mortal damage weapon vs 1w models.
You would roll 6 dice (should be fine to roll together)
For EACH dice that fails, a model of the enemy is killed. Potentially killing 6 models total.
It is NOT fine to roll together. If you fail the first roll, you don't get to try 5 more times.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 BaconCatBug wrote:

It is NOT fine to roll together. If you fail the first roll, you don't get to try 5 more times.

What's the difference?
Explain
Explain in detail
I said if you fail ANY
If you have 1 fail and 5 successes, that's still a Fail. You die.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/07 13:12:09



6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47
 
   
Made in us
Beast of Nurgle




At that point it wouldn't matter since that one failure would still kill the model with no real impact on the rest of the unit. Since all the wounds from that hit go to that model, it takes them or nobody does.

   
Made in gb
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores




 BaconCatBug wrote:

It is NOT fine to roll together. If you fail the first roll, you don't get to try 5 more times.


There is no "first roll" if you roll them together. *any* failures on a 1w model Kills it. 2 failures on a 2w model kills it and so on. even if its 30 DR rolls. If you fails the number of wounds the target has, its dead. Doesnt matter how you roll em. One at a time can lead to DR rolls taking a *long* time. Rolling them together is viable and can speed up the process
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Mortal wounds carry on beyond the first model
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: