Switch Theme:

Drops explained in the BRB?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

I mostly know how the system works but I was wanting to check it up again and I can't find drops explained in the BRB, anyone got a page reference?

Thanks.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Wtf are "drops"?
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

 CrownAxe wrote:
Wtf are "drops"?

Oh so they aren't even proper GW terminology? Probably why I can't find it.

Basically, when posting the first games of 8th ed on Warhammer TV, the people commentating explained deployment in terms of 'drops' and it looks like it has been partially adopted by the community. From what I could gather, 'drops' were the units you deployed on the table so whether you went first depended on how many drops you had. But the problem is, I couldn't check if this was right because I could never find 'drops' in the rule book.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





I've never see anyone use that term

And I'm here a lot
   
Made in dk
Infiltrating Prowler






It's not directly explained but in the section with the missions and scenarios, you can see rules where it states something in the lines of "the army that finishes deployment first gets to choose who goes first".
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka





West Michigan, deep in Whitebread, USA

The problem is it's a product of Internet slang, not a game term.



"By this point I'm convinced 100% that every single race in the 40k universe have somehow tapped into the ork ability to just have their tech work because they think it should."  
   
Made in gb
Potent Possessed Daemonvessel





Why Aye Ya Canny Dakkanaughts!

CrownAxe wrote:I've never see anyone use that term

And I'm here a lot

I've seen people use it on this site, not many but some.
Zewrath wrote:It's not directly explained but in the section with the missions and scenarios, you can see rules where it states something in the lines of "the army that finishes deployment first gets to choose who goes first".

But does that include units deployed in reserves or in transports?
AegisGrimm wrote:The problem is it's a product of Internet slang, not a game term.

Aye, I realise that now.

Ghorros wrote:
The moral of the story: Don't park your Imperial Knight in a field of Gretchin carrying power tools.
 Marmatag wrote:
All the while, my opponent is furious, throwing his codex on the floor, trying to slash his wrists with safety scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





The BRB FAQ answers clears up the confusion you're having pretty clearly
   
Made in dk
Infiltrating Prowler






 mrhappyface wrote:

But does that include units deployed in reserves or in transports?


Under the units specific rule they will tell you how to deploy. Like teleport says that you deploy your unit but it's simply not on the table but saying "I'm holding this unit in reserve" means you have deployed that unit but it will come later in the game. As for transports and units inside, those rules are covered in the transport rules, on the same page with morale phase.
   
Made in gb
The Last Chancer Who Survived




United Kingdom

 CrownAxe wrote:
I've never see anyone use that term

And I'm here a lot
I saw it once. I thought it was a pokemon.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
A wild Drop appeared! It used Plasma Scions... It's Super Effective!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/08 03:16:51


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: