Switch Theme:

RE: Can markerlights buff itself?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Cog in the Machine





Nottingham

Heya,

Wanted to check something. Was playing against a tau player that would roll his markerlights one at a time, and whenever he made a hit he would then use the relevant bonus.

For example, lets say 5 pathfinders that moved in the movement phase then fire their markerlights at an enemy unit.
-Rolls a 2 (miss)
-Rolls a 5 (hits)
-Rolls a 1 (miss) --> 1 marker: Rerolls the 1 - Rolls a 6 (hits)
-Rolls a 5 (hits)
-Rolls a 4 (NOW hits) --> 3 markers: Ignore penalty for moving with heavy.

Is this legit? Whilst I didn't mind it. I could see this getting quite tedious with say 10 man pathfinder squads.
   
Made in ro
Longtime Dakkanaut



Moscow, Russia

You fire all weapons with the same profile at the same time, don't you?

   
Made in gb
Deadly Dire Avenger





I can't find any exact wording in the book but I believe this isn't legit. You pick all your targets for the firing unit before they fire, because it is assumed they are all firing at once.

It also does say that if the target of your attacks is the same model/unit and the weapon and shooter profiles are that same, that you make the hit and wound rolls at the same time.

EDIT: That said, what that player could do is take two units of pathfinders. If they both fired at the same unit and the first unit scored some hits, the second unit would gain the bonuses as they are firing after the first.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/09 21:11:38


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It's 100% legit
You're allowed to shoot weapons one at a time.*
Effects happen immediately, but there is a caveat...
You need to DECLARE all shots for a unit at the start of shooting. **

So, you CAN shoot Markerlights 1 by 1 until you get additional effects.

You CANNOT stop once you have the effect you wanted and start shooting a different target. ***

* Even the Fast Dice Rolling states that the rules assume you will roll ALL weapons 1 by 1.
** Step 3 of Shooting
*** Unless you declared X amount of shots was going to go to the different target.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/09 21:38:33



6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47
 
   
Made in fi
Water-Caste Negotiator





They do. Nothing keeps you from firing those lights one at a time. Game system assumes you roll all the dice for attacks separately, "fast dice" is entirely optional.Markerlight takes effect as soon as it hits. Of course you first decide what those Pathfinders are going to shoot at and if you decide to shoot some of them at a different target you must stick to it regardless of the rolls made.

-Heresy grows from idleness- 
   
Made in gb
Deadly Dire Avenger





My mistake. Guess this clears it up for me too, thanks!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: