Switch Theme:

Overwatch and Combi Weapons, firing both without -1 to hit ?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

The Overwatch Rule says : "Overwatch is resolved like a normal shooting attack (albeit one resolved in the enemy’s Charge phase) and uses all the normal rules except that a 6 is always required for a successful hit roll, irrespective of the firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers."

If i fire Overwatch with a Combi Weapon, i can use both Weapons and hit on 6, the modifier of -1 for firing both Weapons does not count ?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Central California

That is how I read the rules. It says no modifiers apply, and it is a normal shooting attack. In a normal shooting attack, you may fire both weapons. Makes the old combi-flamer seem worth more now (costs more as well, but)

Keeping the hobby side alive!

I never forget the Dakka unit scale is binary: Units are either OP or Garbage. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes.

No modifiers applied to the roll.

-1 is a modifier.
   
Made in us
Pious Palatine





Tacoma, WA, USA

To be completely accurate, you still roll with a -1 to hit.
Any dice that roll a 6 hit regardless of the modifier.
Any thing that might happen from rolling a 1 (say dying from overloading the Plasma part of a Combi-Plasmagun) happen if the die is a 1 or 2.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/11 00:19:44


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






 alextroy wrote:
To be completely accurate, you still roll with a -1 to hit.
Any dice that roll a 6 hit regardless of the modifier.
Any thing that might happen from rolling a 1 (say dying from overloading the Plasma part of a Combi-Plasmagun) happen if the die is a 1 or 2.


This is my reading as well.

-three orange whips 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

Why does the modifier matter for blowing up a supercharged Plasmagun, if the Overwatch Rules says : "...irrespective of the firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers." ? If i roll a 2, its a 2, its not modified to 1, because of irrespective of any modifiers.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut






p5freak wrote:
Why does the modifier matter for blowing up a supercharged Plasmagun, if the Overwatch Rules says : "...irrespective of the firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers." ? If i roll a 2, its a 2, its not modified to 1, because of irrespective of any modifiers.


Because it's resolved like a normal shooting attack, except:

1. It's in the charge phase
2. A roll of 6 always hits, but only a 6 hits, regardless of modifiers (like shooting both weapons from a combi weapon)

As such, if you overcharge your plasma, A roll of 1 or 2 blows you up.

-three orange whips 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






 3orangewhips wrote:
p5freak wrote:
Why does the modifier matter for blowing up a supercharged Plasmagun, if the Overwatch Rules says : "...irrespective of the firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers." ? If i roll a 2, its a 2, its not modified to 1, because of irrespective of any modifiers.


Because it's resolved like a normal shooting attack, except:

1. It's in the charge phase
2. A roll of 6 always hits, but only a 6 hits, regardless of modifiers (like shooting both weapons from a combi weapon)

As such, if you overcharge your plasma, A roll of 1 or 2 blows you up.


Easier explanation: It only hits on a 6 irrespective of modifiers; the modifiers still apply to anything else.

The same as the overheat, if you had a weapon with an effect that applies on a 6+ to hit while suffering a -1 to hit rolls; then you could hit with the natural 6 but not receive the benefit. Alternatively, that same weapon under a +1 to hit modifier and rolling a 5 would miss but the effect would still be in play. The only weapon I know of off hand with such a rule is Electrostatic guantlets in shooting; and the wording of the effect may prevent it from functioning(3 hits instead of 1, but you did not score 1 for the instead to swap out)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

 3orangewhips wrote:


...irrespective of the firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers." ? If i roll a 2, its a 2, its not modified to 1, because of irrespective of any modifiers.


Because it's resolved like a normal shooting attack, except:

1. It's in the charge phase
2. A roll of 6 always hits, but only a 6 hits, regardless of modifiers (like shooting both weapons from a combi weapon)

As such, if you overcharge your plasma, A roll of 1 or 2 blows you up.



I disagree, sort of. Yes, its resolved like a normal shooting attack, but modifiers dont count, doesnt matter if its +1, or -1. A roll of 5 is not modified to 6 (from +1 BS), and a roll of 2 is not modified to 1 (from -1 for firing both Combi Weapons). Both are modifiers, which dont count when firing Overwatch. I need to roll 6s, to hit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/11 15:17:46


 
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




Modifiers still count, the only part it says they don't apply is for determining whether or not you hit. Only 6's will hit, but modifiers are still added/subtracted.

The modifiers clause is only so you can't add 1 to a roll of 5 and get a hit. If you're firing a weapon that gets +1 to hit <FLYERS> and roll a 5, you still add 1 and get a 6, but you miss because you needed a modifier. Nothing says you don't still account for modifiers, just that they don't affect whether or not you hit.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I'm not allowed to add 1 to hit, but i must subtract 1 to determine if my Plasma blows up ? Sorry, i'm not buying it. To me both are modifiers, and they dont count in Overwatch.
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




p5freak wrote:
I'm not allowed to add 1 to hit, but i must subtract 1 to determine if my Plasma blows up ? Sorry, i'm not buying it. To me both are modifiers, and they dont count in Overwatch.


You're allowed to add 1 to hit (in fact you don't have permission not to), it just doesn't help you hit.

Overwatch is resolved like a normal shooting attack (albeit one resolved in the enemy's Charge phase) and uses all the normal rules except that a 6 is always required for a successful hit roll, irrespective of the firing model's Ballistic Skill or any modifiers


That's the sentence in the rules - it doesn't tell us to disregard modifiers, only that they won't affect whether or not you hit. A 6 rolled with a -1 modifier will still hit. A 2 rolled with a -1 on overcharged plasma will still kill.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/07/11 17:28:43


 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






p5freak wrote:
I'm not allowed to add 1 to hit, but i must subtract 1 to determine if my Plasma blows up ? Sorry, i'm not buying it. To me both are modifiers, and they dont count in Overwatch.


I had just said you add 1 if that is the only modifier; and gave an example of a weapon where that could matter, I just also argued where the effect of that mattering does not apply becuse you do not meet the requirements (although it could also be argued that not having the requisite of an instead does not mean that the wnd result does not apply as the faq/starting/designer's notesv
State you can pop smokw "instead of fieinf when you cannot fire: I just didn't want to get into all that)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Geeez just read the darn overwatch rule and it's plain. It says nothing about ignoring modifiers or modifiers not counting. It simply says a 6 is required to hit regardless of the firing models BS or modifiers.

REGARDLESS is the key word here not ignore, etc. And it's in reference to hit and nothing else.

So just don't overcharge the plasma unless you want to feel the burn. It's optional. Everyone is crying about negative modifiers and their plasma because their brains are stuck in old editions where plasma always overheated and wasn't an option.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: