Switch Theme:

Charging multiple units with a single big unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Slippery Scout Biker





Helwinter

How does it works?


Say my opponent has a unit of 30 gargoyles, spread in a single line from one side of the long board side to the other.

I have 2 rhinos, 1 landraider redeemer and a unit of 10 space marines on foot, they are more or less at the same distance from the gargoyles.

Can he choose multiple targets with the same charging unit? If so can they all overwatch?

He roll distances and got high enough to cover the ground to any of the oreviously mentioned units.

How does this works out?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/12 02:07:17


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Choose ANY number of target's within 12" to charge
Each target chosen gets to Overwatch

Roll Charge Range

Your opponent may then move towards any of the targets he chose.

He does not need end engaged with all his targets.

This is legal even if the original Charger was only a single model.


6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47
 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Talamare wrote:
Choose ANY number of target's within 12" to charge
Each target chosen gets to Overwatch

Roll Charge Range

Your opponent may then move towards any of the targets he chose.

He does not need end engaged with all his targets.

This is legal even if the original Charger was only a single model.


Yep, its all in the rulebook. Nothing really ambiguous about it if you just follow the rules as they're laid out. The only thing I'd add to what was said above is that the unit must finish (as always) in coherency, which can limit how many enemy units he's able to get within 1" of (regardless of how many enemy units he declared charges against).


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine





"Can he choose multiple targets with the same charging unit? If so can they all overwatch? "

Yes and yes - you get to overwatch with all units that the charge was declared against, before he rolls charge distance. Assuming none of your units already have an enemy unit within 1" of course.

He cannot end his charge move within 1" of any unit he didn't declare a charge against. As long as he can move 1 model within 1" of one (or more) of the units he declared a charge against, and he can keep his unit in coherency, he can pick any and all targets to get within 1" of (that he can reach). He can then pile-in models 3" in the fight phase. If his charge distance roll was insufficient to reach any of the target units, his unit doesn't move.

There's a bit more explanation of how charges are supposed to work in the 'stepping into a new edition' FAQ.
https://17890-presscdn-0-51-pagely.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/Warhammer_40000_Stepping_into_a_New_Edition_of_Warhammer_40000_ENG.pdf

The reason it's done this way is not least because of characters - as they're all separate units now, without being able to declare multiple charges, you couldn't charge a unit and the character that's standing next to them! The downside is you get overwatched by all of them, before you even find out if you can make it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/07/12 18:12:14


 
   
Made in us
Elite Tyranid Warrior




Pennsylvania

 arkhanist wrote:
"Can he choose multiple targets with the same charging unit? If so can they all overwatch? "

Yes and yes - you get to overwatch with all units that the charge was declared against, before he rolls charge distance. Assuming none of your units already have an enemy unit within 1" of course.

He cannot end his charge move within 1" of any unit he didn't declare a charge against. As long as he can move 1 model within 1" of one (or more) of the units he declared a charge against, and he can keep his unit in coherency, he can pick any and all targets to get within 1" of (that he can reach). He can then pile-in models 3" in the fight phase. If his charge distance roll was insufficient to reach any of the target units, his unit doesn't move.

There's a bit more explanation of how charges are supposed to work in the 'stepping into a new edition' FAQ.
https://17890-presscdn-0-51-pagely.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/Warhammer_40000_Stepping_into_a_New_Edition_of_Warhammer_40000_ENG.pdf

The reason it's done this way is not least because of characters - as they're all separate units now, without being able to declare multiple charges, you couldn't charge a unit and the character that's standing next to them! The downside is you get overwatched by all of them, before you even find out if you can make it.
Unless you can get in position to use your 3" pile-in to lock the other unit(s) in combat. My Tyranids love that rule

   
Made in gb
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine





 Battlesong wrote:

Unless you can get in position to use your 3" pile-in to lock the other unit(s) in combat. My Tyranids love that rule


You can't attack if your bugs charged that turn though. That rule is buried in the 'choose targets' section of the fight phase - "models that charged this turn can only target enemy units that they charged in the previous phase."

Also the designer's commentary:

"Q: If a unit piles in or consolidates into a unit it didn’t
declare a charge against in the preceding Charge
phase, does that unit get to fire Overwatch?
A: No.
Remember though that units that charged can only make close
combat attacks against units that they declared the charge
against, even if pile-in moves, etc. bring them within 1" of a
different unit."

https://17890-presscdn-0-51-pagely.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/Warhammer_40000_Designers_Commentary-ENG.pdf

But if you're only doing it to lock them into combat, assuming the other unit is closer to your piling in model than the charged one, then obviously that's fine.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/13 16:33:42


 
   
Made in gb
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores




 arkhanist wrote:
 Battlesong wrote:

Unless you can get in position to use your 3" pile-in to lock the other unit(s) in combat. My Tyranids love that rule


You can't attack if your bugs charged that turn though. That rule is buried in the 'choose targets' section of the fight phase - "models that charged this turn can only target enemy units that they charged in the previous phase."

Also the designer's commentary:

"Q: If a unit piles in or consolidates into a unit it didn’t
declare a charge against in the preceding Charge
phase, does that unit get to fire Overwatch?
A: No.
Remember though that units that charged can only make close
combat attacks against units that they declared the charge
against, even if pile-in moves, etc. bring them within 1" of a
different unit."

https://17890-presscdn-0-51-pagely.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/Warhammer_40000_Designers_Commentary-ENG.pdf

But if you're only doing it to lock them into combat, assuming the other unit is closer to your piling in model than the charged one, then obviously that's fine.


You can, as per the Designer Doodle you quoted. you declare a charge against both targets. soak the overwatch, charge in. Get within 1 inch of target A, Use consolidate movement to Move within 1 inch of target B, while moving closer to target A. You can now attack Both targets.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I felt a little dirty doing this the other day, but my Wraithlord declared a charge only against an IG character. The character over-watched with a pistol. My Wraithlord made his charge but intentionally stopped just under 1" away. This allowed him to pile-in to the unit of plasma guns right next to the character as part of the pile-in, pulling them into combat but not allowing them to overwatch.

Note that if you move the charger into base contact with the character right away, you can't Pile-in. You have to move closer to the enemy model than when you started when you pile-in, and that's impossible if you're already in base-to-base.

My wraithlord had to direct all his attacks against the character, and the plasma gunners got to attack my wraithlord in the fight phase, but it was 100% worth it to get them to fall back the next turn.
   
Made in us
Guardsman with Flashlight



Boston

 Deathypoo wrote:
I felt a little dirty doing this the other day, but my Wraithlord declared a charge only against an IG character. The character over-watched with a pistol. My Wraithlord made his charge but intentionally stopped just under 1" away. This allowed him to pile-in to the unit of plasma guns right next to the character as part of the pile-in, pulling them into combat but not allowing them to overwatch.

Note that if you move the charger into base contact with the character right away, you can't Pile-in. You have to move closer to the enemy model than when you started when you pile-in, and that's impossible if you're already in base-to-base.

My wraithlord had to direct all his attacks against the character, and the plasma gunners got to attack my wraithlord in the fight phase, but it was 100% worth it to get them to fall back the next turn.


And this is why CC is so much more enjoyable as an assault army. You can nullify those crazy overwatch by just being a bit more conscious of how the assault phase works.
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Devon, UK

Sharazad87 wrote:

You can, as per the Designer Doodle you quoted. you declare a charge against both targets. soak the overwatch, charge in. Get within 1 inch of target A, Use consolidate movement to Move within 1 inch of target B, while moving closer to target A. You can now attack Both targets.

That's the exact opposite of what it says. If a unit charges, it will only be able to allocate attacks to targets it declared a charge against. And you presumably mean pile-in movement, not consolidate movement as that happens after the unit has fought.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 IJW wrote:
Sharazad87 wrote:

You can, as per the Designer Doodle you quoted. you declare a charge against both targets. soak the overwatch, charge in. Get within 1 inch of target A, Use consolidate movement to Move within 1 inch of target B, while moving closer to target A. You can now attack Both targets.

That's the exact opposite of what it says. If a unit charges, it will only be able to allocate attacks to targets it declared a charge against. And you presumably mean pile-in movement, not consolidate movement as that happens after the unit has fought.


The example DOES have him declaring a charge against both He's saying you can use the double charge to reach a closer target and not rely on getting as high a roll, because you can pile-in after. Even if the initial charge didn't reach them, so long as you declared them a target and can reach with the pile-in, you're good to go.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Deathypoo wrote:
I felt a little dirty doing this the other day, but my Wraithlord declared a charge only against an IG character. The character over-watched with a pistol. My Wraithlord made his charge but intentionally stopped just under 1" away. This allowed him to pile-in to the unit of plasma guns right next to the character as part of the pile-in, pulling them into combat but not allowing them to overwatch.

Note that if you move the charger into base contact with the character right away, you can't Pile-in. You have to move closer to the enemy model than when you started when you pile-in, and that's impossible if you're already in base-to-base.

My wraithlord had to direct all his attacks against the character, and the plasma gunners got to attack my wraithlord in the fight phase, but it was 100% worth it to get them to fall back the next turn.

Even if you're base to base, you can rotate around the base to base


6+ = 6/36 | Reroll 1s = 7/36 | Reroll Misses = 11/36 ||||||| 5+ = 12/36 | Reroll 1s 14/36 | Reroll Misses = 20/36 ||||||| 4+ = 18/36 | Reroll 1s 21/36 | Reroll Misses = 27/36
3+ = 24/36 | Reroll 1s 28/36 | Reroll Misses = 32/36 ||||||| 2+ = 30/36 | Reroll 1s 35/36 ||||||| Highest of 2d6 = 4.47
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




 Talamare wrote:
 Deathypoo wrote:
I felt a little dirty doing this the other day, but my Wraithlord declared a charge only against an IG character. The character over-watched with a pistol. My Wraithlord made his charge but intentionally stopped just under 1" away. This allowed him to pile-in to the unit of plasma guns right next to the character as part of the pile-in, pulling them into combat but not allowing them to overwatch.

Note that if you move the charger into base contact with the character right away, you can't Pile-in. You have to move closer to the enemy model than when you started when you pile-in, and that's impossible if you're already in base-to-base.

My wraithlord had to direct all his attacks against the character, and the plasma gunners got to attack my wraithlord in the fight phase, but it was 100% worth it to get them to fall back the next turn.

Even if you're base to base, you can rotate around the base to base

Nope. Both Pile In and Consolidate specify the move has to end closer to the nearest enemy model. If you're already in base to base, you cannot possibly end any closer, so you cannot move via Pile In or Consolidate.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: