Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/13 05:31:38
Subject: Can building paid for an army hold objectives
|
 |
Frightening Flamer of Tzeentch
|
Can things like void shield generators and bastions hold objectives in 8th?
|
2000 6000 with Reaver Titan guard 2k
2500 (imperial force)
2500 (trimming down in 8th)
TS 30k at 5k points
Yes I have a problem
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/13 05:41:39
Subject: Can building paid for an army hold objectives
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Oldmike wrote:Can things like void shield generators and bastions hold objectives in 8th?
As long as their datasheet says it's a model (most fortifications are), then yes. But they're generally only a single model, so it's not hard for the opponent to outnumber them.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/13 12:13:25
Subject: Can building paid for an army hold objectives
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
Also any unit inside said fortification does not add to the number of models for securing.
I'm assuming becuase:
Models embarked in transports are not "on the board" - And im assuming that models embarked in a fortification are treated the same way. (They are not technically on the board even if you've placed them on and in the fortification to show that they are embarked.)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/13 12:18:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/13 13:48:30
Subject: Can building paid for an army hold objectives
|
 |
Ork-Hunting Inquisitorial Xenokiller
|
Correct. Despite being able to shoot out of the fire points, they're not on the board for objective purposes.
Is it legal to stick something on top of an objective which blocks all access to it? Like a bastion or something? I can only assume it is, although it seems like something you wouldn't do in a friendly game!!
|
TO of Death Before Dishonour - A Warhammer 40k Tournament with a focus on great battles between well painted, thematic armies on tables with full terrain.
Read the blog at:
https://deathbeforedishonour.co.uk/blog |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/13 15:28:08
Subject: Can building paid for an army hold objectives
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
Completely legal. VERY TFG.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/13 16:08:49
Subject: Can building paid for an army hold objectives
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Why? All it does is force the opponent to kill the fortification.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/13 16:15:38
Subject: Can building paid for an army hold objectives
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
Because it forces you to destroy Model X (I've heard of people driving baneblades on top of the objective) to secure the objective as *none* of you units can get within 3 inches of the objective to contest it. As i said, its a viable tactic. But it *Reeks* of WAAC some players dont like that.
However. Before a game, if you want a bit of narrative Having one of your bastions *AS* an objective to be destroyed / captured by the enemy could mix things up a bit and add some spice to your games.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/13 16:56:25
Subject: Can building paid for an army hold objectives
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
No more use of derogatory labels like "TFG", "WAAC", etc in this thread. This forum is for discussing RAW (and occasionally RAI) and these terms are not helpful in that regard, and also can violate our Rule #1 (Be polite) when used poorly.
Any questions, just PM me. Thanks
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/13 16:57:07
|
|
 |
 |
|