Switch Theme:

Rules Question: Suppress  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





So, putting together my Epirian Contractor Suppression team and reading the Suppress rule...

The rule says "Multiple suppress attacks are never cumulative; instead, just utilize the value from amongst the attacks that hit that will result in the affected unit gaining the maximum amount of STs"

Is this per model, or per unit?

If a unit of Contractor Suppressors with say... three Shock Batons and one Shock Maul attack, and each of them hit, does the attacked unit only gain the two STs from the maul, ignoring the additional 3 from the batons? Similarly, would the STs from the Clingfire Sprayer on the attached scarecrow be ignored unless they rolled a 3 on the D3?

I was building a unit with all the suppression fun until I saw this, and now I wonder about the efficacy of piling on these weapons, if only one is actually going to do anything.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
President of the Mat Ward Fan Club






Los Angeles, CA

Tvayumat wrote:
So, putting together my Epirian Contractor Suppression team and reading the Suppress rule...

The rule says "Multiple suppress attacks are never cumulative; instead, just utilize the value from amongst the attacks that hit that will result in the affected unit gaining the maximum amount of STs"

Is this per model, or per unit?

If a unit of Contractor Suppressors with say... three Shock Batons and one Shock Maul attack, and each of them hit, does the attacked unit only gain the two STs from the maul, ignoring the additional 3 from the batons? Similarly, would the STs from the Clingfire Sprayer on the attached scarecrow be ignored unless they rolled a 3 on the D3?

I was building a unit with all the suppression fun until I saw this, and now I wonder about the efficacy of piling on these weapons, if only one is actually going to do anything.


Yes, its per unit (so the answer is: 'yes' to all your questions). Allowing Suppress to work per attacking model was just too insanely crazy in the case of units (like the Suppression Team) that are able to take a bunch of those weapons, plus it meant that you always had to track each model's rolls to hit separately (which is already something you have to do for different weapons, not something I wanted to have to do for models equipped with the same weapons too).

However, I wouldn't think of it as a complete wash because the more models you have with the suppress ability, the more likely that you will indeed get a hit with that weapon (thereby triggering the bonus suppression to occur), plus it also means as you suffer casualties in the unit you'll still have models with 'suppress' weapons left.

But yes, overall if your goal is simply to cause suppression, then there isn't a need to give every single model in the unit a weapon with the suppress ability, as just a few models with those weapons will do essentially the same job.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in no
Nervous Karist Novitiate





Uff, I didn't consider that when i assembled my suppression team.
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





Similarly... I should have read the rule a bit closer before assembling the suppression team.

So, looking at the positives here... I'm at least pretty much guaranteed to get Suppress (1) at a minimum.

IF the burst mode clingfire rolls a 3, it'll be 3. IF the maul hits, it'll be minimum 2, and with three batons w/ pistols hitting five times per model...

I guess I'm glad they're FPEN 4+. Time to charge mature angels with nightsticks.
   
 
Forum Index » Maelstrom's Edge General Discussion
Go to: