Switch Theme:

Setting up on tomb world (Monolith)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Does setting up units on the tomb world count as a unit in reserve or a unit in a transport. Say you put 2 units of warriors in the tomb world do they count as one deployed unit with the monolith or 3 individual units in the deployment phase?
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






Rule on datasheet say that you place those units on Tomb World at the same time as Monolith/Night Scythe on battlefield.
So I think they are more like a "passangers" than separate depoloyments.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/14 10:29:27


   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Definetely not. Units at the tomb world can be brought to the battlefield with the monolith and the night scythe. So units at the tomb world are not passengers or anything like it.

When you set up each infantry unit you can choose it to be at the tomb world as reserves and it counts as a deployment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/14 11:00:11


 
   
Made in pl
Regular Dakkanaut






Monolith: Eternity Gate: When you set up this model, at the same time you can also set up any number of <DYNASTY> INFANTRY units on their tomb world rather than setting them up on the battlefield.

For me this clearly indicate that this are not separate deployments...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also you may not place any more models on Tomb World later during depolyment. This is Monolith rule, not Infantry models rule.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/07/14 11:11:25


   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Monoliths do not have the 'Transport' keyword so any units set up on the Tomb World are indeed separate units.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




 danyboy wrote:
Monolith: Eternity Gate: When you set up this model, at the same time you can also set up any number of <DYNASTY> INFANTRY units on their tomb world rather than setting them up on the battlefield.

For me this clearly indicate that this are not separate deployments...


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Also you may not place any more models on Tomb World later during depolyment. This is Monolith rule, not Infantry models rule.


I think you may be right. Although monoliths and night scythes clearly do not have passengers, you get a chance each time you deploy one of those units to simultaneously deploy infantry units on their tomb world.
   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




copper.talos wrote:
Definetely not. Units at the tomb world can be brought to the battlefield with the monolith and the night scythe. So units at the tomb world are not passengers or anything like it.

When you set up each infantry unit you can choose it to be at the tomb world as reserves and it counts as a deployment.


It doesn't say set them up as reserves though, also they can't be deployed like reserves, they come in using a transport mechanism.

"When you set up this model, at the same time you can also set up any number of <DYNASTY> INFANTRY units on their tomb world rather than setting them up on the battlefield. " - My interpretation is that count as a grouped unit like a transport.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




They are counted as a single deployment for deploying.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

beachedwalrusau wrote:
copper.talos wrote:
Definetely not. Units at the tomb world can be brought to the battlefield with the monolith and the night scythe. So units at the tomb world are not passengers or anything like it.

When you set up each infantry unit you can choose it to be at the tomb world as reserves and it counts as a deployment.


It doesn't say set them up as reserves though, also they can't be deployed like reserves, they come in using a transport mechanism.

"When you set up this model, at the same time you can also set up any number of <DYNASTY> INFANTRY units on their tomb world rather than setting them up on the battlefield. " - My interpretation is that count as a grouped unit like a transport.

No unit says anything about being in Reserves though. For example, the Space Marine Assault Squad says the following:

During deployment, if the entire unit has jump packs, you can set them up high in the skies instead of placing them on the battlefield.

And the Necron Deathmarks say the following:

During deployment, you can set up a unit of Deathmarks in a hyperspace oubliette instead of placing them on the battlefield.

Any unit that is not set up on the battlefield or in a TRANSPORT are in Reserves. Since neither Monoliths nor Night Scythes have the TRANSPORT keyword, units set up on a Tomb World are Reserves with the added restrictions as to how they can arrive on the battlefield due to the 'Invasion Beams' and/or 'Eternity Gate' rules.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Deranged Necron Destroyer



UK, Midlands

The monolith and the unit(s) on the tomb world count as one drop for alternating deployment. It says they are deployed "at the same time" so the monolith and 6 infantry units on the tomb world are one drop.


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: