Switch Theme:

Toxin sack rule interpretation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





The tyranids wargear list states that models with a toxin sack causes 1 additional damage on wound rolls of 6+ in the fight phase

What that mean:

a) all weapons wielded have +1 on their damage profile for wound rolls of 6+?
b) an extra wound is inflicted that deals 1 damage (with normal saves allowed)?
c) 1 damage is inflicted with no save possible? (Since only FnP-like rolls can prevent damage)
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




A is the answer. 1 damage becomes 2, 3 becomes 4, d3 becomes d3+1. etc.
   
Made in gb
Lethal Lhamean




Birmingham

Actually, Toxin Sacs specifically state that on a to wound roll of 6 the attack has damage 2, given that damage is it's own stat there is no possible room for interpretation here without a massive reading comprehension failure.

This does also mean that Toxin Sacs on monsters are completely useless, why sacrifice damage D3 or D6 for a 2 on a to wound roll of 6.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/17 11:40:11


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Imateria wrote:
Actually, Toxin Sacs specifically state that on a to wound roll of 6 the attack has damage 2, given that damage is it's own stat there is no possible room for interpretation here without a massive reading comprehension failure.

This does also mean that Toxin Sacs on monsters are completely useless, why sacrifice damage D3 or D6 for a 2 on a to wound roll of 6.
I recommend re-reading the rules for toxin sacs, you seem to suffering from "massive reading comprehension failure". It says "1 additional damage", not "2 damage flat".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/17 11:52:52


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

"...cause 1 additional damage."

That is not "2 flat" and isn't useless on big gribblies. Roll to hit, to wound, any sixes to Wound do +1 damage after saves are made. Simples.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: