Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/23 01:34:24
Subject: Vertical movement costs for terrain and transports?
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
The Void
|
In past editions, you had to subtract vertical distances from movement when going up to 2nd or 3rd floors of ruins, etc. Is that still the case? I can't find it in the main rule book, or FaQ, but people have insisted that it is.
If you do need to pay vertical move costs, do these apply when disembarking from a transport? The disembark rules say you must be within 3" of the transport, but there is no Z axis concern. Could you be on a second floor if you are within 2" of the top of your rhino?
|
Always 1 on the crazed roll. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/23 01:45:38
Subject: Vertical movement costs for terrain and transports?
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Drudge Dreadnought wrote:In past editions, you had to subtract vertical distances from movement when going up to 2nd or 3rd floors of ruins, etc. Is that still the case? I can't find it in the main rule book, or FaQ, but people have insisted that it is. If you do need to pay vertical move costs, do these apply when disembarking from a transport? The disembark rules say you must be within 3" of the transport, but there is no Z axis concern. Could you be on a second floor if you are within 2" of the top of your rhino?
"It cannot be moved through other models or through terrain features such as walls, but can be moved vertically in order to climb or traverse any scenery." Nothing says vertical movement is free, so it isn't. You can disembark onto the higher floors of a ruin if it's physically within 3" of the transport's base or hull.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/23 01:46:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/23 08:48:06
Subject: Vertical movement costs for terrain and transports?
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
BaconCatBug wrote: Drudge Dreadnought wrote:In past editions, you had to subtract vertical distances from movement when going up to 2nd or 3rd floors of ruins, etc. Is that still the case? I can't find it in the main rule book, or FaQ, but people have insisted that it is.
If you do need to pay vertical move costs, do these apply when disembarking from a transport? The disembark rules say you must be within 3" of the transport, but there is no Z axis concern. Could you be on a second floor if you are within 2" of the top of your rhino?
"It cannot be moved through other models or through terrain features such as walls, but can be moved vertically in order to climb or traverse any scenery."
Nothing says vertical movement is free, so it isn't. You can disembark onto the higher floors of a ruin if it's physically within 3" of the transport's base or hull.
If the ruin wall is 1" away, would you 'wobly model' them 2" up?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/23 22:17:30
Subject: Vertical movement costs for terrain and transports?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
torblind wrote: BaconCatBug wrote: Drudge Dreadnought wrote:In past editions, you had to subtract vertical distances from movement when going up to 2nd or 3rd floors of ruins, etc. Is that still the case? I can't find it in the main rule book, or FaQ, but people have insisted that it is.
If you do need to pay vertical move costs, do these apply when disembarking from a transport? The disembark rules say you must be within 3" of the transport, but there is no Z axis concern. Could you be on a second floor if you are within 2" of the top of your rhino?
"It cannot be moved through other models or through terrain features such as walls, but can be moved vertically in order to climb or traverse any scenery."
Nothing says vertical movement is free, so it isn't. You can disembark onto the higher floors of a ruin if it's physically within 3" of the transport's base or hull.
If the ruin wall is 1" away, would you 'wobly model' them 2" up?
Oh not this again... there are other threads with that discussed ad nauseam.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|