| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/29 06:31:23
Subject: Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
Warwick Kinrade
Mesa, Arizona
|
So there's a bit of an argument at one of the local stores about how casualties taken impacts other models ability to makes attacks. I'll provide an example:
I have 3 Ork Boyz and 1 Nob, the Nob has a Big Choppa. They're in Combat with 3 Tactical Marines positioned so that one Tactical Marine is within 1" of both the Boyz and the Nob. I attack with the Nob, slaying one Space Marine. My opponent removes the Space Marine within 1" of my unit, both the Boyz and Nob.
Now the argument is can the Ork Boyz then attack or not? RAW for the Fight Phase says that you choose targets in Step 3, so in the above scenario both the Boyz and Nob had legal targets at the time of that step. However when I got to Step 5 I chose the Nob frist as I cannot use the rules for Fast Rolling, the Nob has a different profile from the Boyz. Once I conclude the Nobs Step 5 I do the Boyz Step 5 which DOESN'T mention anything about ranges, that was ONLY done in Step 3. The question is simple, can the Boyz attack or not?
Similarly this applies to Shooting. I have a Devastator Squad with four unique weapons that all shoot an enemy unit. The first weapon kills enough models to pull the enemy unit of of LoS, or Range, of my remaining guns. I was only told to check LoS and Range in Step 2, not I'm on Step 4. Can my remaining Devastators still shoot?
For the record I say no on both accounts however RAW doesn't say anything against this, at best its unclear. At least that I can find. So if this DOES or DOESN'T work, why, please provide RAW or an FAQ passage that is clear one way or the other. It's entirely possible I've missed something. :]
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/29 06:55:57
Subject: Re:Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
To answer your shooting question :
https://17890-presscdn-0-51-pagely.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/Warhammer_40000_Stepping_into_a_New_Edition_of_Warhammer_40000.pdf
Q: Can you wound models in a target unit that
are not visible to the firer or that are beyond its
maximum range?
A: Yes.
When resolving a shooting attack, only one model in the target
unit needs to be visible and within range of the firing model
in order to make the attack. Your opponent can allocate any
resulting wounds to any unwounded models in the target unit
that they choose, even those that are not visible or within range
of the attack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/29 06:58:38
Subject: Re:Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
Warwick Kinrade
Mesa, Arizona
|
That does not answer the shooting question. The question is does the game check LoS per model at the time it fires or does it check at the time you choose the unit and then doesn't care if the model loses LoS within the same activation. This is a very specific timing question, that passage just says you can take casualties from out of LoS and range.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/29 07:11:16
Subject: Re:Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
The rules for the shooting phase (step 2 choose targets) : In order to target an enemy unit, a model from that unit must be within the Range of the weapon being used (as
listed on its profile) and be visible to the shooting model.
It doesnt matter if the models are out of range later. Range and visibility check is done in step 2. Otherwise wounds couldnt be allocated to models out of range or out of LOS, as stated the FAQ.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/29 07:14:26
Subject: Re:Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
Warwick Kinrade
Mesa, Arizona
|
Well they could be because the FAQ says they can, they're unrelated. But you are correct that by RAW range and LoS are only relevant at one moment for the unit. Which as much as I dislike....is RAW.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/29 07:25:52
Subject: Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The Prince of Excess wrote:So there's a bit of an argument at one of the local stores about how casualties taken impacts other models ability to makes attacks. I'll provide an example:
I have 3 Ork Boyz and 1 Nob, the Nob has a Big Choppa. They're in Combat with 3 Tactical Marines positioned so that one Tactical Marine is within 1" of both the Boyz and the Nob. I attack with the Nob, slaying one Space Marine. My opponent removes the Space Marine within 1" of my unit, both the Boyz and Nob.
Now the argument is can the Ork Boyz then attack or not? RAW for the Fight Phase says that you choose targets in Step 3, so in the above scenario both the Boyz and Nob had legal targets at the time of that step. However when I got to Step 5 I chose the Nob frist as I cannot use the rules for Fast Rolling, the Nob has a different profile from the Boyz. Once I conclude the Nobs Step 5 I do the Boyz Step 5 which DOESN'T mention anything about ranges, that was ONLY done in Step 3. The question is simple, can the Boyz attack or not?
You've answered your own question. The rules state how to resolve fighting (and shooting) and in the case of fighting you check attack range and pick targets for every model in the attacking unit before you start rolling any dice. Yes, once you start rolling you can roll each model's attacks one at a time, but none of that changes the previous steps of the fight sequence you've already completed.
Once you're at step #5, you're not checking ranges anymore, and therefore any casualties pulled during step #5 have absolutely no bearing on who is able to attack.
Similarly this applies to Shooting. I have a Devastator Squad with four unique weapons that all shoot an enemy unit. The first weapon kills enough models to pull the enemy unit of of LoS, or Range, of my remaining guns. I was only told to check LoS and Range in Step 2, not I'm on Step 4. Can my remaining Devastators still shoot?
Same as above. You've declared targets, checked range and visibility for every model in the firing unit during step #2. Once you start rolling for any model in the firing unit during step #4 you're done with all of that. Therefore, no matter what happens during step #4, it doesn't change what was verified during step #2.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/07/29 07:28:02
Subject: Re:Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
There is one other thing. If some models of a unit are in cover, and some are not, and the controlling player allocates wounds to the models not in cover, leaving only models in cover behind, the remaining models do get cover bonus.
I believe the same targeting mechanic takes place in the fight phase. In step 3 you choose targets : First, you must pick the target unit, or units, for the attacks. To target an enemy unit, the attacking model must either be within 1" of that unit, or within 1" of another model from its own unit that is itself within 1" of that enemy unit.
You are targeting the whole unit of 3 space marines, not individual models. So, yes the boyz can attack as well, if they are within 1" of the nob.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 13:01:36
Subject: Re:Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Manchester, UK
|
A variation on the original question.
Unit A is in cc with units B & C.
Unit B attacks and deals wounds. Those wounds are allocated to the models closest to unit C, and leaves them more than 1 inch from unit A's models.
If I am correct, you attack per unit not per 'combat' so you have done step 3 for unit B but not unit C, which means C can not attack.
Is that right?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 13:12:07
Subject: Re:Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Masta_Mark wrote:A variation on the original question.
Unit A is in cc with units B & C.
Unit B attacks and deals wounds. Those wounds are allocated to the models closest to unit C, and leaves them more than 1 inch from unit A's models.
If I am correct, you attack per unit not per 'combat' so you have done step 3 for unit B but not unit C, which means C can not attack.
Is that right?
This would be correct.
You activate one unit at a time in the Fight Phase and complete every step for that unit before moving on to the next one.
In your example unit C would not be able to attack if their pile-in move was insufficient to bring them within 1" of unit A. However they would still get their pile-in and consolidation moves as they are part of the Fight Phase activation steps.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/03 13:16:21
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 15:17:14
Subject: Removing Casualties in Combat/Shooting and Multiple Attacks
|
 |
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair
|
Unit C would do nothing; it is not an eligble unit unless it charged this turn.
Units can only be selected in the fight phase if at the time of selectiin they either:
A) are currently within 1" of an enemy model.
Or
B) have just charged in the charge phase.
Losing models within 1" can make your unit ineligible for the fight phase even if those lost models come from casualties incurred by the unit they are no longer within 1" of in that fight phase(so allocate wounds carefully)
|
This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|