Switch Theme:

KFF and Squiggoths  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




This may have been answered before, but I couldn't find the answer..

Kustom Force Field: If this model is equipped with a kustom force field, friendly <ORK> units that are entirely within 9" have 5+ invulnerable save against ranged weapons. If the Big Bek is embarked, the vehicle transporting it has a 5+ invulnerable save against ranged weapons instead.

Squiggoths and Gargantuan Squiggoths can transport units but do not have the vehicle Keyword. However, the KFF does not use the Keyword vehicles and instead leaves it not bold. And this might be a stretch, but a vehicle is a thing used for transporting people or goods, especially on land, such as a car, truck, or cart. Additionally, the Big Mek also has another ability Big Mekaniak which does use the Keyword VEHICLE which indicated that they do use that specific key word on certain abilities which they did not on the KFF ability.

This might have been something that is answered in the new Forge World book (which I do not have) but I know that KFF was revised after the 8th edition indexes came out however they did not change the word "vehicle" to a Keyword in the revision.

So does a Big Mek's KFF affect Squiggoths when they are embarked on it?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






See, I was of the opinion that a similar issue affected Centurions and Stormravens in the new SM Codex but got told off for it. -shrug-

It does look like that the vehicle in the KFF description should be key-worded, but it isn't. I am guessing they didn't anticipate anything that isn't a vehicle to be able to transport models when writing the rule.

Personally, as it isn't keyworded but just a generic descriptor, I'd say the Squiggoth gets the 5++ save as it is transporting the Mek, much like how the word "hit" in the various Honour Guard's intercept rules is just a generic descriptor and not a rules word.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/31 20:48:34


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Deleted.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/07/31 21:12:43


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: