Switch Theme:

Question about smite and close combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I have just had a couple questions if someone could help clear them up.

1. If an enemy model says it can smite x amount of wounds, do these wounds carry over from model to model within the target unit or is it just 1 targeted model per smite?

2. Can you move within 1 inch of an enemy unit without declaring charge (close combat)? For example, I want to move next to an enemy unit, so they can't shoot next turn. However, I want to avoid overwatch, so I don't want to enter close combat.

Thanks in advance.
   
Made in us
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle




Alabama

1. Mortal Wounds spill over into the unit, so no damage is lost.

2. The only way to move within 1" of an enemy unit, without being overwatched* is do so during the Fight phase, either in the Pile-In step or the Consolidation step. Otherwise, the only way to get within 1" is to charge.



*Caveat: Some units can charge without being overwatched at all.




This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/01 18:27:59


WH40K
Weeping Legion 2000 pts.

DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+

26 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





gsnurr3 wrote:
I have just had a couple questions if someone could help clear them up.

1. If an enemy model says it can smite x amount of wounds, do these wounds carry over from model to model within the target unit or is it just 1 targeted model per smite?

2. Can you move within 1 inch of an enemy unit without declaring charge (close combat)? For example, I want to move next to an enemy unit, so they can't shoot next turn. However, I want to avoid overwatch, so I don't want to enter close combat.

Thanks in advance.


#1 - Yes, wounds from Smite carry over from model to model. If you get 3 mortal wounds off Smite, since each is done 1 at a time, you would lose three 1-wound models. If a unit has two mutli-wound models, one with fully wounds at 3, and one with only 1 wound remaining, and they suffer 2 mortal wounds from Smite, then the unit would lose the one already wounded model, and the other model would be reduced to 2 wounds.

#2 - No, you may not move within 1 inch of enemy models unless it's to get into combat with them, or unless it's done to leave combat. So, no, you cannot do as you described. Either you're going to charge them and suffer overwatch, or you're going to have to be far enough from them that they can still move and shoot normally.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Thanks for the info fellas. Saved a debate between a few us.
   
Made in se
Fresh-Faced New User




All of this is very clearly stated in the rulebook. If you're debating over things like this, I would suggest that everyone in your gaming group sits down and properly read through the core rules.
   
Made in ar
Regular Dakkanaut




 Yarium wrote:
gsnurr3 wrote:
I have just had a couple questions

2. Can you move within 1 inch of an enemy unit without declaring charge (close combat)? For example, I want to move next to an enemy unit, so they can't shoot next turn. However, I want to avoid overwatch, so I don't want to enter close combat.

Thanks in advance.


#2 - No, you may not move within 1 inch of enemy models unless it's to get into combat with them, or unless it's done to leave combat. So, no, you cannot do as you described. Either you're going to charge them and suffer overwatch, or you're going to have to be far enough from them that they can still move and shoot normally.


Actually you can if it is the closest model for a consolidation/pile in move.
Lets say you fight in CC and completely destory the enemy unit, and the nearest unit is 2" away, you can consolidate 3" in that direction, engaging in combat. But you can't fight it and it can fight yours.
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Kheirn wrote:
All of this is very clearly stated in the rulebook. If you're debating over things like this, I would suggest that everyone in your gaming group sits down and properly read through the core rules.


This.

 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob





Denver, Colorado

 Elbows wrote:
Kheirn wrote:
All of this is very clearly stated in the rulebook. If you're debating over things like this, I would suggest that everyone in your gaming group sits down and properly read through the core rules.


This.


Even so, nothing wrong with asking.

"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment.". Words to live by, especially for ork players waiting for a new codex.  
   
Made in us
Awesome Autarch






Sure, but it is always the first step.

For some reason I've become one of the "technical editor" style sources in my local group for game rules. The first thing I say when someone asks me a rules question is: "What does it say, exactly in the rules?"

This resolves about 90% of the questions people start to ask. Just reading it out loud will very often make it click. It's the first step to any question.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: