Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/02 14:56:28
Subject: Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The rules for the Patriarch say that the Patriarch can charge even if it advances that turn. But the makes no mention of familiars. If the unit includes familiars (as intended), and advances, can the Patriarch still charge? Thanks
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/02 15:06:50
Subject: Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Tower wrote:The rules for the Patriarch say that the Patriarch can charge even if it advances that turn. But the makes no mention of familiars. If the unit includes familiars (as intended), and advances, can the Patriarch still charge? Thanks
Looks like RaW you can't charge after advance if you have a Familiar, because the rule explicitly calls out the Patriarch and not "this unit".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/02 15:10:54
Subject: Re:Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Hypothetically, is it a RAW possibility that the Patriarch can charge, and the familiar not charge, as long as they can maintain coherency (if they are 2" from an enemy)? The Patriarch at least has express permission to charge when the rule book says it couldn't.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/02 15:13:18
Subject: Re:Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Tower wrote:Hypothetically, is it a RAW possibility that the Patriarch can charge, and the familiar not charge, as long as they can maintain coherency (if they are 2" from an enemy)? The Patriarch at least has express permission to charge when the rule book says it couldn't.
No, that is not a possibility whatsoever. The Patriarch and the Familiar are a single unit. You don't charge individual models, you charge units. 1. Choose Unit to Charge With Any of your units within 12" of the enemy in your Charge phase can make a charge move.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/02 15:13:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/02 15:29:39
Subject: Re:Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Looks like RaW you can't charge after advance if you have a Familiar, because the rule explicitly calls out the Patriarch and not "this unit".
But Patriarch is the name of the unit, so I don't think it's totally unreasonable to read the rule as applying to the unit. It's really just the "a" in the rule that throws me, and makes me think they are referring to the one model.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/02 15:51:18
Subject: Re:Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Tower wrote:Looks like RaW you can't charge after advance if you have a Familiar, because the rule explicitly calls out the Patriarch and not "this unit".
But Patriarch is the name of the unit, so I don't think it's totally unreasonable to read the rule as applying to the unit. It's really just the "a" in the rule that throws me, and makes me think they are referring to the one model.
Yes, that's exactly what the "a" does.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/02 21:57:37
Subject: Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Pretty sure the intent is not for a Familiar to remove an ability. Quirk of wording mayhaps but I'm gonna go with unintended consequence and not how it's supposed to be played.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/02 22:00:01
Subject: Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Grovelin' Grot Rigger
|
JohnnyHell wrote:Pretty sure the intent is not for a Familiar to remove an ability. Quirk of wording mayhaps but I'm gonna go with unintended consequence and not how it's supposed to be played.
I would say this as well.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/02 23:15:08
Subject: Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
JohnnyHell wrote:Pretty sure the intent is not for a Familiar to remove an ability. Quirk of wording mayhaps but I'm gonna go with unintended consequence and not how it's supposed to be played.
You're constantly posting talking about an "intent" that simply doesn't exist. The rules are clear. To play any other way is cheating.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 05:47:01
Subject: Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
As a GSC player I wish it were not the case however the familiars do prevent the Patriarch from charging after advancing.
In short it's a trade off you get 2 extra wounds and the ability to use an additional psychic power vs the ability to advance and charge while those familiars are alive.
Also they slow him down by 2" per turn as they have a slower movement value.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 08:46:37
Subject: Genestealer Cult Patriarch
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
BaconCatBug wrote: JohnnyHell wrote:Pretty sure the intent is not for a Familiar to remove an ability. Quirk of wording mayhaps but I'm gonna go with unintended consequence and not how it's supposed to be played.
You're constantly posting talking about an "intent" that simply doesn't exist. The rules are clear. To play any other way is cheating.
Playing a Patriarch as being able to Advance and Charge seems to be intended, and most reasonable souls would play it that way. The rules aren't clear... they've missed an unintended artifact of not mirroring the Swift and Deadly wording exactly from the Genestealers entry. It's pretty damn obvious that the Familiars are not designed to spoil an ability - be that guy if you like.
FWIW disagreeing with you on a couple of occasions doesn't mean I "constantly" post wrong things. Please don't deride fellow posters that way. It's OK to disagree in areas of interpretation - the only time we'd need to agree would be if we played each other. Don't see that happening ;-)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/03 09:23:01
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|