Switch Theme:

Broodlord Brood Telepathy ability  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Been Around the Block




Does the Brood Telepathy ability of the Broodlord (+1 to hit for all <HIveFleet> Genestealers in the fight phase) also apply to the Broodlord himself? He has the keyword Genestealer (and is obviously from the same Hivefleet as himself). If it does, it obviously only helps him if he has a -1 to hit from some source as well, as he normally hits on a 2+ already. But it would allow him to ignore the first -1 penalty to hit.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Malachon wrote:
Does the Brood Telepathy ability of the Broodlord (+1 to hit for all <HIveFleet> Genestealers in the fight phase) also apply to the Broodlord himself? He has the keyword Genestealer (and is obviously from the same Hivefleet as himself). If it does, it obviously only helps him if he has a -1 to hit from some source as well, as he normally hits on a 2+ already. But it would allow him to ignore the first -1 penalty to hit.

The only thing I will say about this is that we had both this question AND a very similar question for Old One Eye's Alpha Leader ability, and GW went ahead and did an Errata for the Alpha Leader ability (to change 'Carnifex' to 'CARNIFEX', making sure Old One Eye benefited from his own ability).

They did not make a similar change for Brood Telepathy, so it seems fairly likely that they don't want it to affect the Broodlord (or they think its not worth putting in the errata since it doesn't really benefit I'm all that often). Regardless, RAW the Broodlord shouldn't benefit from the ability.

For consistency, since GW has keywords now, I really think they should always be using them in ability rules like this one, so I personally don't like them not changing it like they did for Alpha Leader.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Yeah if they named a Genestealer unit rather then using a GENESTEALER Keyword he can't buff himself. That's how we've been playing it.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in ar
Fresh-Faced New User





yes, he can autobuff


AURA ABILITIES Some units – usually CHARACTERS – have abilities that affect certain models within a given range. Unless the ability in question says otherwise, a model with a rule like this is always within range of the effect. For example, a Lord of Contagion has the Nurgle’s Gift ability, which affects all DEATH GUARD models within 7" of him. As the Lord of Contagion is also a DEATH GUARD model, he benefits from this ability as well.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 jolyas wrote:
yes, he can autobuff


AURA ABILITIES Some units – usually CHARACTERS – have abilities that affect certain models within a given range. Unless the ability in question says otherwise, a model with a rule like this is always within range of the effect. For example, a Lord of Contagion has the Nurgle’s Gift ability, which affects all DEATH GUARD models within 7" of him. As the Lord of Contagion is also a DEATH GUARD model, he benefits from this ability as well.


You seem to be missing the fact that his ability doesn't have a bolded keyword that affects him. It says 'Genestealer units' and the word Genestealer is not a bolded keyword. If it were, there would be no question that it affects him (because of the rule you mentioned above).

However, since 'Genestealer units' does not contain a bolded keyword, it only applies to actual 'Genestealer' units, not the Broodlord.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Yakface is right here. It needs to be errata'd to GEANSTEALER for it to affect the Broodlord, but be prepared to be called TFG and have gibberish about "intent" shouted at you for following the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/04 07:58:34


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Yakface is right here. It needs to be errata'd to GEANSTEALER for it to affect the Broodlord, but be prepared to be called TFG and have gibberish about "intent" shouted at you for following the rules.


Why? Noone would shout 'intent' when GW's writers chose the phrase 'Genestealer unit' not the GENESTEALER keyword. This isn't an unclear intent case, it's one that is clear. They chose to affect Genestealer units, not anyone with the Keyword. If they errata it later they change the intent. But there's no confusion right now.

Again, please stop deriding anyone who disagrees with you as idiots, or spouting "gibberish", T20 Conscripts, kill a puppy etc. Just argue your case. In this case everyone agrees with you! ;-)

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: