Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 17:10:44
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Navigator
|
So, the question is quite simple - could characters ride alonside some other squad inside single DT?
|
"Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try Again. Fail again. Fail better." - Samuel Beckett © |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 17:13:16
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
There is no limit to the number of units that can ride in a Transport, nor is a Dedicated Transport locked to a specific unit.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 17:14:25
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Vexler wrote:So, the question is quite simple - could characters ride alonside some other squad inside single DT?
A transport can carry an unlimited amount of units now. A character can ride along with a unit, or you could but two unrelated units inside.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/03 17:19:54
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores
|
Razorbacks can carry 6 <adeptus astarties> Models, so its perfectly fine to put a chaplain in there with your 5 man vanguard vet squad or a 6 man command squad (Captain, banner guy, lieutenants and honour guard - 4 units 6 models)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/03 17:22:35
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/04 07:30:16
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
No. Once its capacity of models is reached, its full. A unit is at least one model. So the number of units is not unlimited.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/04 07:55:23
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
p5freak wrote:
No. Once its capacity of models is reached, its full. A unit is at least one model. So the number of units is not unlimited.
There is no limit on the number of units that can be carried, there is a limit on the number of models.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/04 20:48:52
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
BaconCatBug wrote:
There is no limit on the number of units that can be carried, there is a limit on the number of models.
Yes there is. A unit has at least 1 model. There is no unit with 0 models. If a transport can carry 10 models, it can carry up to 10 units. There is a limit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/04 20:54:37
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Imperial Recruit in Training
Philadelphia
|
Just to piggy back...
How do character auras work while they're in a transport? I ant find anything in the rule book to suggest the aura goes inactive.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/04 20:55:01
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
p5freak wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:
There is no limit on the number of units that can be carried, there is a limit on the number of models.
Yes there is. A unit has at least 1 model. There is no unit with 0 models. If a transport can carry 10 models, it can carry up to 10 units. There is a limit.
Can you quote a rule that supports your claims that a Transport can only carry a number of units equal to how many models it can carry? If not, there is no limit on the number of units other than one that occurs as a consequence due to how many models the vehicle can carry. Automatically Appended Next Post: Night-Man wrote:Just to piggy back...
How do character auras work while they're in a transport? I ant find anything in the rule book to suggest the aura goes inactive.
'Transports', pg. 183 of the main rulebook, fifth paragraph.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/04 20:56:48
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/04 21:03:18
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Ghaz wrote:
Can you quote a rule that supports your claims that a Transport can only carry a number of units equal to how many models it can carry?
Is there a situation where the number of units could conceivably exceed the number of models?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/04 21:08:37
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
insaniak wrote: Ghaz wrote:
Can you quote a rule that supports your claims that a Transport can only carry a number of units equal to how many models it can carry?
Is there a situation where the number of units could conceivably exceed the number of models?
Not to my knowledge, but there could always be models such as Familiars in the future which may not take up space in a Transport. Regardless, saying the side effect of another rule is a rule in its own right has no support.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/04 22:24:12
Subject: Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Not as Good as a Minion
|
Ghaz wrote: insaniak wrote: Ghaz wrote:
Can you quote a rule that supports your claims that a Transport can only carry a number of units equal to how many models it can carry?
Is there a situation where the number of units could conceivably exceed the number of models?
Not to my knowledge, but there could always be models such as Familiars in the future which may not take up space in a Transport. Regardless, saying the side effect of another rule is a rule in its own right has no support.
Familiars are not likely to be a separate unit from a Character.
That having been said, "unlimited" is the proper term, as that is literally "not limited". Transport Capacity is "not limited" by the number of units. They are however limited by the number of models in the unit and the Capacity of the Transport. It is not a hard limit, but a soft limit, as it is termed.
|
Are you a Wolf, a Sheep, or a Hound?
Megavolt wrote:They called me crazy…they called me insane…THEY CALLED ME LOONEY!! and boy, were they right. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/04 23:23:06
Subject: Re:Dedicated Transports and characters
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Night-Man wrote:Just to piggy back...
How do character auras work while they're in a transport? I ant find anything in the rule book to suggest the aura goes inactive.
Core rules, middle of Transports box:
Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked. Unless specifcally stated, abilities that affect other units within a certain range have no effect whilst the unit that has the ability is embarked.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/04 23:24:20
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|