Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 17:58:41
Subject: Colour sergeant Kell
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
His Sworn Protector rule
"Roll a d6 each time Lord Castilian Creed loses a wound whilst he is within 3" of Colour Sergeant Kell, on a 2+ Lord Castilian Creed does not lose a wound but Colour Sergeant Kell suffers a mortal wound."
If Creed takes a wound, but it does d3 damage, does Kell absorb 3 damage as 3 mortal wounds or only a single mortal wound for the single wound inflicted?
Automatically Appended Next Post: Or would Kell need to roll 3 +2 to absorb each individual damage inflicted to Creed.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/06 19:05:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 20:19:54
Subject: Colour sergeant Kell
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
In 8th edition, the 'To Wound' roll doesn't cause a model to lose a wound. It's the Damage that the weapon inflicts that causes a model to lose a wound (or wounds).
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 21:17:40
Subject: Colour sergeant Kell
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Ghaz wrote:In 8th edition, the 'To Wound' roll doesn't cause a model to lose a wound. It's the Damage that the weapon inflicts that causes a model to lose a wound (or wounds).
^^ This. You would roll 3 dice, one for each point of damage.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/06 21:17:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 22:32:32
Subject: Colour sergeant Kell
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
I see. So the saving throws are always made against every point of damage, not the "to wound" roll.
I've only played one game of 8th with my cousin so far. I'm sure we goofed more than a few rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 22:37:45
Subject: Colour sergeant Kell
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Meatloafwarrior wrote:I see. So the saving throws are always made against every point of damage, not the "to wound" roll.
I've only played one game of 8th with my cousin so far. I'm sure we goofed more than a few rules.
No, you do:
To Hit
To Wound
Saving Throw - one die per Wounding Hit
Damage
Any post-Damage avoidance effects like the Warlord Trait 6+ to ignore a wound - these last are one die per Wound caused.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/06 22:38:06
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 22:41:30
Subject: Colour sergeant Kell
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Meatloafwarrior wrote:I see. So the saving throws are always made against every point of damage, not the "to wound" roll.
I've only played one game of 8th with my cousin so far. I'm sure we goofed more than a few rules.
No. Armour and Invulnerable saves are taken after the 'To Wound' roll and it's allocation but before damage is inflicted as per page 179 of the main rulebook. Kell's 'Sworn Protector' rule (and the other rules which allow a model to ignore a lost wound) are not saves.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 22:50:15
Subject: Colour sergeant Kell
|
 |
Hardened Veteran Guardsman
|
Okay. Thanks for the clarification.
|
|
 |
 |
|