Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 20:46:53
Subject: "Feel no Pain" equivalent VS Multiple wounds weapon
|
 |
Scuttling Genestealer
|
I was sure i was 100% right about the ruling but my opponent said i was absolutely wrong.
Let say a lascanon hit a Hive Tyrant that also have catalyst on (Feel no pain effect).
1) Lascanon hit
2) Hive Tyrant fail his invul. save
3) Lascanon roll D6 and get 4
4) Hive Tyrant get 4 Catalyst rolls and succeed 2
5) Hive Tyrant overall loose 2 wounds
Am i correct or not?
Don't want to be an ass, i simply want to know what is the right way to read the rule!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 20:48:23
Subject: "Feel no Pain" equivalent VS Multiple wounds weapon
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Correct.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 20:49:31
Subject: Re:"Feel no Pain" equivalent VS Multiple wounds weapon
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
You are correct. You have to roll your FNP equivalent for every wound.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 20:53:03
Subject: "Feel no Pain" equivalent VS Multiple wounds weapon
|
 |
Been Around the Block
Dortmund, Germany
|
I have been in the same situation quite often, but with the FNP Warlord Trait.
p5freak is correct, you get the 4 rolls.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 21:01:09
Subject: "Feel no Pain" equivalent VS Multiple wounds weapon
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
A d6 from a lascannon are classed as damage, not wounds.
You would need to save the lascannon wound, if failed, roll Catalyst , then if that is failed, you get d6 damage from that single lascannon wound (the roll name is all: roll to hit, then roll to wound)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 21:08:20
Subject: "Feel no Pain" equivalent VS Multiple wounds weapon
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Inquisitor Jex wrote:A d6 from a lascannon are classed as damage, not wounds.
You would need to save the lascannon wound, if failed, roll Catalyst , then if that is failed, you get d6 damage from that single lascannon wound (the roll name is all: roll to hit, then roll to wound)
This is completely wrong.
From the Designer's Commentary FAQ:
Q: When rolling for abilities such as ‘Disgustingly Resilient' or ‘Tenacious Survivor' against attacks which inflict multiple wounds, do you roll to ignore each individual wound inflicted by the attack, or do you roll only once to ignore all the wounds inflicted by the attack?
A: Roll to avoid each wound lost separately.
For example, if a model with Disgustingly Resilient fails its saving throw against an attack made by a thunder hammer (Damage 3), you would roll three dice and for each result of 5+ you would ignore a single wound.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 21:12:37
Subject: "Feel no Pain" equivalent VS Multiple wounds weapon
|
 |
Veteran Inquisitorial Tyranid Xenokiller
|
yakface wrote:Inquisitor Jex wrote:A d6 from a lascannon are classed as damage, not wounds.
You would need to save the lascannon wound, if failed, roll Catalyst , then if that is failed, you get d6 damage from that single lascannon wound (the roll name is all: roll to hit, then roll to wound)
This is completely wrong.
From the Designer's Commentary FAQ:
Q: When rolling for abilities such as ‘Disgustingly Resilient' or ‘Tenacious Survivor' against attacks which inflict multiple wounds, do you roll to ignore each individual wound inflicted by the attack, or do you roll only once to ignore all the wounds inflicted by the attack?
A: Roll to avoid each wound lost separately.
For example, if a model with Disgustingly Resilient fails its saving throw against an attack made by a thunder hammer (Damage 3), you would roll three dice and for each result of 5+ you would ignore a single wound.
Wow ok, that makes no logic, but ok, wow. Bizarre.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/06 21:16:40
Subject: "Feel no Pain" equivalent VS Multiple wounds weapon
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Inquisitor Jex wrote:A d6 from a lascannon are classed as damage, not wounds.
You would need to save the lascannon wound, if failed, roll Catalyst , then if that is failed, you get d6 damage from that single lascannon wound (the roll name is all: roll to hit, then roll to wound)
Incorrect. A successful 'To Wound' roll is not what causes the model to lose wounds. It's the damage inflicted by the weapon due to the successful 'To Wound' roll that causes the model to lose wounds. Your way has the model using Catalyst before the unit has suffered a wound or mortal wound.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
|