Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 14:12:15
Subject: Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Sinewy Scourge
|
With the change in chapter approved there is now a first turn roll-off.
1) Can you spend a CP to reroll this?
2) If the answer to (1) is yes, then, if, say, I rolled a 4 and my opponent rolled a 3, then they rerolled and rolled a 5, would I be able to use a reroll at this point?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 14:22:51
Subject: Re:Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
So far we only have a snippet/preview of the rules from Chapter Approved, so there is no way to know what else is written in there. However,
BRB states you can spend CP on Strategems, "Before or during a battle"
So, yes, you can both re-roll any of the dice you each roll during deployment/before the battle. In Matched Play, each strategem can only be used "once per phase" - so additionally, you could in theory re-roll any and all dice you roll during deployment (roll for choice of turn, seize the initiative, etc) provided you pay the CP to do so, since it isn't a phase there's no restriction on using the strategem multiple times during deployment. This is the same logic a Space Marine army would use to apply the same strategem to multiple units in its army during deployment.
Provided that your army is Battle-forged, of course. Otherwise no CP for you - or Strategems.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/11 14:28:14
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 14:44:58
Subject: Re:Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
The ITC prohibits rerolling this roll off for this reason. As it stands it's totally unclear if you can use the stratagem in a roll-off in response to the opponent using it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:43:36
Subject: Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
1) Yes
2) No, no dice roll can be re-rolled more than once.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:45:15
Subject: Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
But he'd be rolling his die, his opponent having re-rolled his own die.
|
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:48:24
Subject: Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
I think yes, you can re-roll the first-turn die, and in response to that, of course your opponent can choose.
Think of it as game-states:
[Current Game State: Opponent has a 2 and +1, I have a 4]
Opponent chooses to Reroll:
[Current Game State: Opponent has a 4 and +1, I have a 4]
I can now choose to Re-roll:
[Current Game State: Opponent has a 4 and +1, I have a 6]
We begin the game, me going first, with both of us out one CP.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 15:51:18
Subject: Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Overheal wrote:
But he'd be rolling his die, his opponent having re-rolled his own die.
Oh I read wrong - in which case 1) Yes and 2 ) Yes! Thanks for the error spot.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/11 17:29:02
Subject: Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
RAW yes.
Callidus assassin's n even references use of CPs before game starts.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/12 13:54:29
Subject: Re:Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Mounted Kroot Tracker
|
You can't wait for your opponent's result on a re-roll and then choose to re-roll your own die:
Q: Can I use the Command Re-roll Stratagem to retroactively
re-roll a dice? For example, if I take a Psychic test, and
then my opponent successfully Denies the Witch, could I use
the Stratagem to try and increase the result of the original
Psychic test?
A: No. You must use the Stratagem as soon as you have
rolled your dice, before anything else occurs.
In your first turn roll-off example, you would be retroactively re-rolling, which is prohibited. What you can do isn't clearly stated, however. If you originally roll a '2' and your opponent a '1', and he chooses to re-roll, you may simultaneously declare a re-roll? You just can't decide after the result of your opponent's re-roll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/12 13:56:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/12 20:53:59
Subject: Re:Re-rolling the First Turn Roll-off
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
Oaka wrote:You can't wait for your opponent's result on a re-roll and then choose to re-roll your own die:
Q: Can I use the Command Re-roll Stratagem to retroactively
re-roll a dice? For example, if I take a Psychic test, and
then my opponent successfully Denies the Witch, could I use
the Stratagem to try and increase the result of the original
Psychic test?
A: No. You must use the Stratagem as soon as you have
rolled your dice, before anything else occurs.
In your first turn roll-off example, you would be retroactively re-rolling, which is prohibited. What you can do isn't clearly stated, however. If you originally roll a '2' and your opponent a '1', and he chooses to re-roll, you may simultaneously declare a re-roll? You just can't decide after the result of your opponent's re-roll.
Except that Deny the Witch doesn't happen at the same step.
3. Deny the Witch Tests
A psyker can attempt to resist a psychic
power that has been manifested by an
enemy model within 24" by taking a
Deny the Witch test – this takes place
immediately, even though it is not your
turn
DTW tests happen in direct reaction to a successful result by the active player: it is not rolled-off alongside the physic power manifestation test, it only occurs after a successful test is processed.
In a roll-off, both players roll two separate results at the same time step. They are both rolled under the same trigger action and whether the result of player A's die lands on the table before player B's die - or vice versa - is irrelavant, all that matters is which of the two results is greater than the other. So, if one of the two payers is allowed to use CP to re-roll one of these die in a roll-off situation, it naturally follows that the other player may do so as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/12 20:54:50
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
|