Switch Theme:

Khârn's "The Betrayer" Rule  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stormin' Stompa





I want to start by saying that this is one of those super lucky times when we can say without any sort of ambiguity that this is NOT the intent of the rule in question.

"The Betrayer: You cannot re-roll or modify hit rolls of 1 made for Khârn the Betrayer in the Fight phase. Instead, those attacks automatically hit a friendly unit within 1". Randomly determine which unit is hit if there is more than one. If there are no friendly units within 1" of Khârn, the hits are discarded."

Notice the problem? It hits a Friendly Unit within 1". Khârn himself is a friendly unit within 1" as per the rules for Auras in the Rulebook. Rules as Written, rolls of 1 can never be discarded and instead cause Khârn to punch himself.

Not posted in YMDC because this isn't so much a rules question as a "look at GW being silly again" thread.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/08/12 23:00:59


   
Made in gb
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator






Surfing the Tervigon Wave...on a baby.

Ah, so rather than posting it in the relevant forum to be clarified and discussed (as it's pretty obvious what they intended) you decided to post here as yet another part of your Anti-8th Edition Crusade where you gripe about everything and anything.

Gotcha!



Now only a CSM/Dark Mech player. 
   
Made in us
Consigned to the Grim Darkness






Svalarheima, MA

Seems kinda YMDC-y to me.

Just remember the rules of the subforum - and of the site - yes?

Nil nos tremefacit.
 
   
Made in gb
Stormin' Stompa





 DarkStarSabre wrote:
Ah, so rather than posting it in the relevant forum to be clarified and discussed (as it's pretty obvious what they intended) you decided to post here as yet another part of your Anti-8th Edition Crusade where you gripe about everything and anything.

Gotcha!
Soothe your mammeries. I didn't post it in YMDC because it wasn't a rules question. I freaking love 8th edition, warts and all. But since it's moved here, so be it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/12 23:28:31


   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




This isn't an aura. And if they wanted it to effect himself they would not have said "if there are no friendly units within 1" ignore" they would have said "if there are no friendly units within 1 he hits himself".

This isn't an issue unless someone wants to try and make it one as far as I can see.
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol






Agree it's not an Aura.

I scratch-built a Macharius Vulcan, Thunderbolt and Spartan! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page

My all-plastic Praetorian build log: http://bit.ly/1K7gn7J

People who say "special snowflake" a lot tend to be unpleasant people.

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





It must be an ability to be a Aura. This is an attack not an ability. So you simply follow the written rules for it, and not the Aura rules.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: