Switch Theme:

Over watch and close combat questions. Please help resolve.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Crazy Marauder Horseman





Basildon

Hey all.

Had a game of 40k last night. Absolute belter.

Orks v Marines

A couple of rules queries came up where me and my opponent had different interpretations/opinions on how something should go.

we handled it like gentlemen and didn't let it sour the game. Just did a 4+ decision to keep the game flowing. However I Would like some definite answers.

Both moves I pulled have been used against me, so I assumed were game legal. But a quick glance through the rulebook and.it wasn't as clear.

1) orks want to charge Marines. They end.their movement one inch out of flamer range. Can they.be flamed in over watch? I thought no.

2) two squads of Marines face the orks. Orks declare charge on squad A. They eat over watch and make it in. When it comes to piling in, some orks shuffle into within an inch of squad B, thus dragging them into the combat. However I believe orks will only be able to hit squad A and squad B can then hit v the orks. People have done this sorta thing against me so I assumed it was game legal. Opponent queried it and. To be fair I couldn't find it anywhere in the rules so i "reshuffled" and we ignored it.


Any help pointing me in the right direction for these rules?

   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




1 as far as i know, ranges for weapons on overwatch are worked out from where the charging unit starts its charge, so in this case, if you were more than the flamers range of 8" away, it would not get to overwatch.

2 Correct, i believe that its in the designers commentary where they say that you may pile in to other units you did not declare a charge against although you cannot make attacks against such a unit in that turn. this is why you can declare a multiple charge though if you do all target units would get to overwatch. might be in the faq but this has been covered.

Hope this helps
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

1) Flamer is out of range so can't fire Overwatch
2) What princeyg said.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Crazy Marauder Horseman





Basildon

Thanks guys. Much appreciated.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: