Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 01:39:43
Subject: 'Immediate' effects and re-rolling.
|
 |
Screamin' Stormboy
Eastern Fringe
|
Need some clarification on a rules interptitation my friend and I ran into - that seems obvious but I just couldn't lock down the exact wording in the rules to shut down his interpretation. (note: he's new to 40k while I have 3+ editions rattling around in my head so I might be mixing stuff  )
When effects like Perils of the Warp and 'Gets Hot' (roll a 1 to hit, suffer a Mortal Wound) are rolled - are the effects applied before you get a chance to re-roll? (i.e. you suffer the wounds)
I'd assume obviously no - the re-roll completely supersedes the previous dice result - but my friend is arguing that in theory the original dice roll has to apply to know that you need to re-roll it. Like rolling to hit - you know that the dice has missed, thus you would choose to re-roll it. (sorta Schrodinger's Git  ) The rulebook and FAQ section on re-rolls doesn't mention anything about the status of the previous roll. (though I swear that was addressed in previous editions)
Thanks!
Bonus Question!: Elder Rangers and Illice Nightspear both have a rule that states: "Each time you roll a wound roll of 6+ for this weapon, it inflicts a mortal wound in addition to any other damage." What is the order of operations for applying wounds? 'Regular' wound then Mortal Wound? If so, then Mortal Wounds carry over to another model right? (if that was their last wound)
|
SHOOT EM! CHOP EM! If they still walkin' they probably cheatin' |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 01:51:17
Subject: 'Immediate' effects and re-rolling.
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
Re-rolls nullify the outcome of the original roll. Per the core rules, page four, re-rolls happen before any modifiers are applied. In essence the re-roll functions as if the original roll never landed on the table.
As for railguns and spears I play it as, you have placed a standard wound and # number of mortal wounds into his wound pool. It's up to the controlling player the order that the wounds are saved from the wound pool. This does mean he can resolve them in such a manner that some excess standard damage may be lost or discarded.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/23 01:51:47
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 02:17:46
Subject: 'Immediate' effects and re-rolling.
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Overheal wrote:As for railguns and spears I play it as, you have placed a standard wound and # number of mortal wounds into his wound pool. It's up to the controlling player the order that the wounds are saved from the wound pool. This does mean he can resolve them in such a manner that some excess standard damage may be lost or discarded.
Agreed. The owning player chooses how to allocate wounds, so can choose to allocate the mortal wounds first so that the regular wounds (which each might cause multiple damage) can be put onto already wounded models (thereby not inflicting as much actual damage as they possibly could).
If you're concerned about your opponent doing this (and you're firing multiple attacks that can possibly inflict mortal wounds along with regular damage), you may want to skip 'fast dice rolling' and roll each attack one at a time to minimize the amount of wound manipulation your opponent can pull off.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/23 02:18:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 03:22:30
Subject: 'Immediate' effects and re-rolling.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ask your friend if he has considered the logic of this through, and if he continues to push the issue tell him he no longer can re-roll failed results at all!
Most Rules contain instructions telling us what to do if a dice roll is failed, for shooting attacks it is a line in the Rule informing if any of the dice results are below a certain number on the sheet then the entire sequence ends. If the original dice result is still going to be able to trigger Rules such as Gets Hot, even if it is re-rolled into another result, then there is no reason to assume that original rule telling us to 'end the sequence' are magically exempt from this conclusion. Thus if we take the logic your friend put forth to its conclusions we enter realms where re-rolling does nothing at all.
Personally:
I would like for them to remove the word 'failed' from most of these Re-Roll rules.
I have never been swayed that 'manipulations' that occur are ill-balanced, and view it as a tactical choice that should be given to the players.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 09:16:41
Subject: 'Immediate' effects and re-rolling.
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
It hasn't failed and the effect kicks in until you've decided to reroll or not. Until then outcome is not fully determined.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 10:03:28
Subject: 'Immediate' effects and re-rolling.
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Normal then mortal as per the FAQ for the rule book:
Q: If a weapon such as a rail rifle has an ability that can
inflict a mortal wound on the target in addition to the normal
damage, but the ‘normal damage’ is subsequently saved, does
the target still suffer the mortal wound?
A: Yes. Note that if the ‘normal damage’ was not saved,
the wound would be allocated on the target unit first
(and any resulting damage inflicted) before the mortal
wound was inflicted.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 13:25:15
Subject: 'Immediate' effects and re-rolling.
|
 |
Sneaky Sniper Drone
Clemson SC
|
His interpretation means he could never re-roll an armor save...
|
3000 pts
>1000 pts
:tyranid: <1500 pts
How do I own these?:
~2000 pts
~1000 pts
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 19:17:49
Subject: 'Immediate' effects and re-rolling.
|
 |
Screamin' Stormboy
Eastern Fringe
|
Thanks for clearing it up guys!
Overnight he found a related FAQ entry that also helped bring the 're-roll' rule to light:
Q: When making a hit roll with a supercharged plasma
weapon, do you determine whether a ‘1’ was rolled
before or after applying re-rolls and modifiers?
A: You apply all re-rolls and modifiers first.
For example, if, after re-rolls and modifiers, the final result
is then a 1 (or counts as a 1, as explained above), then the
supercharged plasma weapon injures or kills the firer.
|
SHOOT EM! CHOP EM! If they still walkin' they probably cheatin' |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/27 22:56:04
Subject: 'Immediate' effects and re-rolling.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Technically you would roll to wound get a 6. He wound then assign the wound, roll a save, and that model would then take the weapons damage (roll for it at this point if it's random), and then he would apply the mortal wound from that weapon, and then move to the next weapon.
So if fast rolling the order would be assign a wound, roll a save, apply or roll for damage, and if it was a 6 to wound he would then also apply the mortal wound.
|
|
 |
 |
|