Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 08:09:44
Subject: How many times can you use a single strategem in a single turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Suppose you have 6CP, a 2cp strategem like Heed the Prognosticators that affects a single unit.
Is there any rule that says I can't burn all six CP in a single turn to use the strategem three times on different squads?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 08:12:15
Subject: How many times can you use a single strategem in a single turn?
|
 |
[DCM]
Moustache-twirling Princeps
Gone-to-ground in the craters of Coventry
|
IIRC, a strategem can only be used once per phase.
Look for the generic re-roll 1CP strategem in the BRB.
I don't have the book to hand to check.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/23 08:18:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 08:41:16
Subject: How many times can you use a single strategem in a single turn?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
In Matched Play, each Stratagem can only be used once per Phase.
So if you can play that Stratagem in any Phase (I've no idea what if is) then yes, but if it had to be played in, say, the Shooting Phase, you could only do it once per turn.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 08:53:34
Subject: How many times can you use a single strategem in a single turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
JohnnyHell wrote:In Matched Play, each Stratagem can only be used once per Phase.
So if you can play that Stratagem in any Phase (I've no idea what if is) then yes, but if it had to be played in, say, the Shooting Phase, you could only do it once per turn.
Thank you. Heed specifically says at the start of your turn, but your comments cover pretty much all eventualities
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 11:51:08
Subject: How many times can you use a single strategem in a single turn?
|
 |
Lethal Lhamean
Birmingham
|
Godeskian wrote: JohnnyHell wrote:In Matched Play, each Stratagem can only be used once per Phase.
So if you can play that Stratagem in any Phase (I've no idea what if is) then yes, but if it had to be played in, say, the Shooting Phase, you could only do it once per turn.
Thank you. Heed specifically says at the start of your turn, but your comments cover pretty much all eventualities
Actually, if Heed is played before the start of your turn then you can actually use as many times as you have CP in one go. The Matched Play restrictions for Strategems specifically states that it does not apply to Strategems used outside of the standard phases of a turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 13:28:05
Subject: How many times can you use a single strategem in a single turn?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Yup, before the battle is a different question to what was asked / thread title.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/08/23 21:08:28
Subject: How many times can you use a single strategem in a single turn?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sorry, I thought the start of a turn to be part of a turn, if that makes sense, in the same way that the end of the movement phase for deep strike is still part of the movement phase
|
|
 |
 |
|