Switch Theme:

World Eaters legion trait: one additional attack for berzerkers or more?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




The Warp

Ok, so the World Eaters legion trait says:
When a unit with this trait makes a successful charge, you can make one additional attack with each of its models in the subsequent Fight phase.


The berzerker rule states:
This unit can fight twice in each Fight phase instead of only once.


The question is, does charging with 'zerkers grant ONE additional attack, or one for each time the unit attacks (which would be +2 standard, +3 with the stratagem).

On the face of it, I'm inclined to say it's only +1, because i) the wording seems explicit enough and ii) other rules (such as chainsword) explicitly say it's +1 attack each time the bearer attacks.

But, BUT. FAQ 1.0 states:
Q. If a unit has an ability that allows it to fight twice in the Fight phase (e.g. Berzerkers), at what point during the Fight phase do they fight for the second time?
A. Treat each time the unit is able to fight as a separate unit selected to fight for all purposes.

Even though this particular FAQ originally dealt with a different question, the answer seems to be relevant here. If every time a unit fights it counts as a different unit, then you would in fact get the +1 attack bonus each time, wouldn't you?

Thoughts?



This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/24 17:58:54


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Extra attack each time they fight.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

- Did they Charge?
- Is it the subsequent Fight Phase?
- Are they fighting? (they can do this multiple times most likely)
- If yes to all the above +1 attack!

Nothing to do with 'being a different unit' (it isn't), all to do reading and applying the rules logically.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/24 18:13:30


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






I agree that the wording seems to describe them not getting an extra for each activation but only one extra attack for the phase but that doesn't seem to have been their intent.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






While the wording is sloppy, there isn't really any other way to parse it other than it meaning they get +1A whenever they fight, because the only time things fight is when using the fight rules.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Fighting twice during the Fight Phase doesn't prevent it from still being the Fighting Phase.

It is easy to think on Phases in terms of a time-line, the sequence within informing us the start and end point on that timeline. Rules that 'activate' during this period of time will always be in effect as long as we can answer 'yes' to the question 'is it the X Phase?' There are even Rules that call out specific points with the Phase, such as 'start of...,' that further reinforce our ability to picture a timeline and specific points on said timeline. Additionally other Rules have informed us of a 'one per phase' limitation, which works well with the time-line format. Given the lack of a 'once per phase' limitation within the +1 Attack Rule, I believe the Author intended for units that fight multiple times a Phase to benefit multiple times.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/08/26 21:15:49


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine





The 'fight as a separate unit selected' is about the 'selecting' for fight sequencing. If it charged, it still normally fights twice before any non-charging units. It's so that after fighting the first time it can be interrupted by a strategem for example before it can fight the 2nd time. It's not a different unit, that would be just bizarre.

This also means that it piles in etc each time its selected to fight. Their particular ability means the unit can be selected twice per fight phase, instead of the usual once (thrice if you use the strategem too of course)

As long as the unit meets the criteria for the +1 attack per model - i.e. it's the following fight phase from its charge, it gets it every time it fights.

Berzerkers are just scary now - wish my death company were half as nasty!
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






The reason it's being brought up is because it doesn't say "you get +1 attack FOR the phase". Unfortunately, the wording says you get an additional attack IN the phase. If you fight twice, then you've made two additional attacks in the phase.

I haven't seen anyone say they believe that's the intent yet though.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon




USA, Maine

So as an additional question regarding that activation, do they get two consolidation moves if they manage to wipe two units with their two activations? Or is consolidation handled at the very last step of the fight phase and not as part of a units last activation step?

Painted armies:

Orks: 11000 points
Marines: 9500 points
Khorne Marines: 2500 points
Khorne Demons: 1500 points 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

The rules for consolidation apply to each activation in the fight phase. So, should a unit wipe out another, it would be able to consolidate. I see no reason why an additional consolidation would not happen.

That said... something to remember is attacks can only be launched against units that were actually charged. You can't just consolidate into an inch of another unit after the first activation and expect to attack.

Let's say those Berzerkers were in combat with a conscript squad and the combat lasted 2 turns. They could consolidate within 1 inch of another unit at the end of the first activation, but would not be able to attack until the next round.

Please correct me if I am wrong here.

   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon




USA, Maine

I read it the same way. I will post a general consolidation question to the main board.

Painted armies:

Orks: 11000 points
Marines: 9500 points
Khorne Marines: 2500 points
Khorne Demons: 1500 points 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: