Switch Theme:

Bro Champ death ability stack with similar stratagem?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in za
Fresh-Faced New User




GK brother hood champion has "Heroic Sacrifice"
"If this model is slain in the fight phase, he can immediately pile in and attack before being removed as a casualty.

GK have stratagem "only in death does duty end" 1CP
"Use when Grey Knight Character is slain. Before removing it from the battlefield, that model can immediately either shoot as if it were his shooting phase, or fight as if it were his Fight phase.

My question is would these two abilities be able to stack? Allowing a dying bro champ to attack twice after dying
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Yes it works, as it is two different abilities.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in za
Fresh-Faced New User




Which one will go off first then, and at what stage would the CP have to be used? Before HS or after it
   
Made in gb
Cultist of Nurgle with Open Sores




I would say after If they do indeed stack.

   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






gosublanky wrote:
Which one will go off first then, and at what stage would the CP have to be used? Before HS or after it


It does not matter. But sequencing tells us that the players whose turn it is gets to set the sequence. In either case it occurs when the champ is slain and the action takes place before removing him as a casualty so you can still pile in and attack both times.

"Only in death" does have a minor benefit for going first: he does a full fight; so he can consolidate before sacrificing. If it is your turn you will want to use the strategem first; if it is used against you force the strategem second. Either way they both go off and ate declared with CP spent as soon as the champ is slain.

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in gb
Ship's Officer



London

 Kommissar Kel wrote:
gosublanky wrote:
Which one will go off first then, and at what stage would the CP have to be used? Before HS or after it


It does not matter. But sequencing tells us that the players whose turn it is gets to set the sequence. In either case it occurs when the champ is slain and the action takes place before removing him as a casualty so you can still pile in and attack both times.

"Only in death" does have a minor benefit for going first: he does a full fight; so he can consolidate before sacrificing. If it is your turn you will want to use the strategem first; if it is used against you force the strategem second. Either way they both go off and ate declared with CP spent as soon as the champ is slain.

Not sure I agree you'd have to spend the CP right away. I think that you can use heroic sacrifice, then decide if you want to use the stratagem.

Both abilities trigger from the guy dying. My understanding is that they happen one after the other in an order determined by the controlling player. When you use the stratagem you pay the CP and the attack goes off. I can't see why you'd pay the CP, then resolve another ability, then resolve the stratagem. That would be odd.

   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Wait, Reading Erro.,
Kel is right, Sequence all the way for this one.

Mandragola,
Even though I would highly expect a Frequently Asked Question answer to give the Controlling Player power to decide the order of operations for Stratagems, instead of Current Player. Due to the fact both set of instructions inform us to remove the Model as part of following said Rule, we are going to want to make sure we inject the second Rule into the equation with enough time for it to do anything: AKA, when the Model loses that last wound. Sequencing works from that point forward because both Rules inform us to do something between the periods of the Model being Slain and the Model being Removed.

If the Rule is evoked after this point on the Timeline, there no longer is a Model on the Tabletop to play around with.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2017/08/29 17:48:38


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Mandragola wrote:
 Kommissar Kel wrote:
gosublanky wrote:
Which one will go off first then, and at what stage would the CP have to be used? Before HS or after it


It does not matter. But sequencing tells us that the players whose turn it is gets to set the sequence. In either case it occurs when the champ is slain and the action takes place before removing him as a casualty so you can still pile in and attack both times.

"Only in death" does have a minor benefit for going first: he does a full fight; so he can consolidate before sacrificing. If it is your turn you will want to use the strategem first; if it is used against you force the strategem second. Either way they both go off and ate declared with CP spent as soon as the champ is slain.

Not sure I agree you'd have to spend the CP right away. I think that you can use heroic sacrifice, then decide if you want to use the stratagem.

Both abilities trigger from the guy dying. My understanding is that they happen one after the other in an order determined by the controlling player. When you use the stratagem you pay the CP and the attack goes off. I can't see why you'd pay the CP, then resolve another ability, then resolve the stratagem. That would be odd.


First line in "only in death": use when a gk character is slain.

If you do anything else before using the strategem it becomes to late to trigger it.

The way it would go is the champ gets slain(in melee), sacrafice automatically triggers, you may at this point pay the CP and have only in death triggered. If you do not, then after you have used sacrafice it is too late; you have already completed an action after the slain trigger was met for the strategems use.

Because both sacrafice and the strategem have the same trigger you can declare use of the stratagem and then resolve them in any order; but you would be paying the CP even if you took the strategem second(of course at that point you could shoot with the strategem, so it would not be a completely wasted CP no matter if you had killed all models engaged or reachable)

Jinx, regarding your last sentence: I had actually double-checked both rules before my first response; besides the general finishing a slain status to remove as a casualty, neither of these rules specify to do so(the model is still slain and will still be removed). Your Idea was still correct that the timeline for when you pay the CP and use the Strategem has passed if you do not declare it before resolving sacrafice.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/29 17:42:53


This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: